West Virginia Car Insurance Requirements
West Virginia car insurance requirements are 20/40/10 in both minimum liability and uninsured motorist coverage. West Virginia auto insurance regulations require all registered vehicles in the state to be insured. Get coverage today with our free comparison tool. Enter your ZIP code below to compare multiple West Virginia car insurance quotes for free.
Free Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Nov 11, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.
Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.
West Virginia law requires all registered vehicles in the state to be insured and requires financial responsibility to be in the form of a car insurance policy. Penalties for not maintaining a current insurance policy can be stiff so it’s wise to stay current with West Virginia insurance rules an regulations.
The state of West Virginia follows the tort system similar to Virginia law. Under a tort system, a driver will be found to be at fault for causing an accident. The at fault party and their insurance company are then required to pay damages to the victims of an accident.
All personal vehicles in West Virginia require the following liability coverage requirements:
- Bodily Injury
- Property Damage
Additionally, West Virginia requires:
- Uninsured / Underinsured Bodily Injury
- Uninsured / Underinsured Property Damage
|Minimum West Virgina Car Insurance Requirements|
|Bodily Injury Liability||$20,000 / $40,000 Limit|
|Property Damage Liability||$10,000 Limit|
|Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury||$20,000 / $40,000 Limit|
|Uninsured Motorist Property Damage||$10,000 Limit|
Additional insurance coverage can include:
- Comprehensive and Collision Coverage
Collision pays for damages after your car has been hit or in a collision. Comprehensive covers all non-collision incidents. These can include flood damage or your car being broken into. The most stolen vehicles in West Virginia shows which cars specifically can get value from getting comprehensive coverage but it is recommended that all drivers utilize this coverage for its other benefits.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
Establishing proof of insurance and financial responsibility
- Get a standard liability car insurance policy
In order to provide proof of insurance, you can provide one of the following:
- Form WV-1 Certificate of Insurance
You must maintain proof of insurance and financial responsibility and present it:
- When asked by a police officer
- When registering your vehicle
- After an accident
- Anytime you are operating a vehicle
Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility Penalties
If you are unable to show proof of insurance, you can face the following penalties:
- Suspended registration
- Reinstatement fee of $100 plus additional fees if applicable
- Suspension of your driver’s license plus reinstatement fees
West Virginia Insurance Agents
Charleston Car Insurance | Huntington Car Insurance | Parkersburg Car Insurance | Morgantown Car Insurance | Wheeling Car Insurance | Fairmont Car Insurance | Beckley Car Insurance | Hurricane Car Insurance | Williamson Car Insurance