UPDATED: Jun 2, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn't influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.
Virginia’s insurance laws are a bit different from other states. The state does no require its drivers to maintain a car insurance policy but those who don’t need to pay an uninsured motor vehicle fee. There are other nuances within the state’s insurance rules and being aware of them can keep you on the right side of the law.
Virginia insurance law follows a tort system which means that the driver found at fault for causing an accident is responsible for paying damages resulting from that accident. The specific rules of a tort system vary from state to state but the general concept is the same.
All personal vehicles in Virginia require the following liability coverage requirements:
- Bodily Injury
- Property Damage
Additionally, Virginia requires:
- Uninsured / Underinsured Bodily Injury
- Uninsured / Underinsured Property Damage
|Minimum Virginia Car Insurance Requirements|
|Bodily Injury Liability||$25,000 / $50,000 Limit|
|Property Damage Liability||$20,000 Limit|
|Uninsured/Underinsured Bodily Injury||$25,000 / $50,000 Limit|
|Uninsured/Underinsured Property Damage||$20,000 Limit|
Take a look at how state minimum car insurance rates vary from state to state.
Additional insurance coverage can include:
- Comprehensive and Collision Coverage
Comprehensive and collision insurance helps round out your policy by covering repairs and replacement of your vehicle if it is damaged. Collision will pay out (after your deductible) when you vehicle is involved in an accident. Comprehensive covers all non-collision related incidents such as a fire or your car being stolen. The most stolen vehicles in Virginia list is a way to gauge if you need this coverage, but even if your vehicle isn’t listed, it’s recommended that you add this to your policy.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
Establishing proof of insurance and financial responsibility
- Get a standard liability car insurance policy
- Pay an Uninsured Motor Vehicle (UMV) Fee of $500 – valid for 12 months, but does not provide any sort of financial protection
- Other ways of establishing financial responsibility are only for non-consumer vehicles
In order to provide proof of insurance, you can provide one of the following:
- Insurance ID Card
- Evidence of currently paid UMV
You must maintain proof of insurance and financial responsibility and present it:
- When asked by a police officer
- When registering your vehicle
- After an accident
- Anytime you are operating a vehicle
Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility Penalties
If you are unable to show proof of insurance, you can face the following penalties:
- Suspended registration
- Statutory fee of $500 and reinstatement fees
- Requirement to submit an SR-22 for 3 years
Average Monthly Car Insurance Rates in VA (Liability, Collision, Comprehensive)
Let’s take a look at the average monthly car insurance rates.
Virginia Insurance Agents
Virginia Beach Car Insurance | Norfolk Car Insurance | Chesapeake Car Insurance | Richmond Car Insurance | Newport News Car Insurance | Alexandria Car Insurance | Hampton Car Insurance | Roanoke Car Insurance | Portsmouth Car Insurance | Suffolk Car Insurance | Lynchburg Car Insurance | Harrisonburg Car Insurance | Leesburg Car Insurance | Charlottesville Car Insurance | Blacksburg Car Insurance | Danville Car Insurance | Manassas Car Insurance | Petersburg Car Insurance