UPDATED: Jun 2, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn't influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.
Utah is a no fault insurance state and their insurance laws vary from the many other states that follow a tort system. The state requires all drivers to maintain a car insurance policy and has heavy fines for not maintaining coverage. Stay current on the specific regulations instituted by the state to keep from paying fines or having your license/registration suspended.
Similar to New York insurance law, Utah is a no fault state. Under a no fault insurance system, each vehicle’s insurance company pays for their own damages rather than declaring one party to be at fault. A no fault state usually limits the rights of a driver to sue after an accident, but the repayment process is usually faster.
All personal vehicles in Utah require the following liability coverage requirements:
- Bodily Injury
- Property Damage
Also, the state requires:
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
|Minimum Utah Car Insurance Requirements|
|Bodily Injury Liability||$25,000 / $65,000 Limit|
|Property Damage Liability||$15,000 Limit|
|Personal Injury Protection||$3,000 Limit|
Take a look at how minimum coverage rates vary from state to state.
Additional insurance coverage can include:
- Comprehensive and Collision Coverage
- Uninsured / Underinsured Motorist
Comprehensive and collision coverage usually a grouped together. Collision covers accident related damage to your vehicle while comprehensive covers non-collision related incidents such as hail damage or a fire. It also covers you if your vehicle is stolen. The most stolen vehicles in Utah are listed on our site for you to look at.
Uninsured or underinsured motorist insurance adds a further line of protection to you if you’d like it, but since Utah is a no fault state, the main benefit you receive from it is paying for lost wages if you are in an accident with someone who doesn’t have insurance.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
Establishing proof of insurance and financial responsibility
- Get a standard liability car insurance policy
In order to provide proof of insurance, you can provide one of the following:
- Insurance ID Card
- When asked by a police officer
- After receiving a letter from the DMV
- After an accident
- When registering or renewing your vehicle’s registration
- Anytime you are operating a vehicle
- Suspension of license and/or registration
- Fines of no less than $400 for a first offense and $1,000 for subsequent offenses
- $100 registration reinstatement fee
- Requirement to provide an SR-22
- You must maintain proof of insurance and financial responsibility and present it:
Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility Penalties
If you are unable to show proof of insurance, you can face the following penalties:
Average Monthly Car Insurance Rates in UT (Liability, Collision, Comprehensive)
Let’s take a look at the average monthly car insurance rates.
Utah Insurance Agents
Salt Lake City Car Insurance | West Valley City Car Insurance | Provo Car Insurance | West Jordan Car Insurance | Orem Car Insurance | Sandy Car Insurance | Ogden Car Insurance | Layton Car Insurance | South Jordan Car Insurance | Taylorsville Car Insurance | Lehi Car Insurance | Logan Car Insurance | Murray Car Insurance | Draper Car Insurance | Bountiful Car Insurance | Riverton Car Insurance | Pleasant Grove Car Insurance | Roy Car Insurance