If you are caught driving without maintaining proper financial responsibility, you can face stiff penalties and the suspension of your license/registration. Most drivers will simply obtain a car insurance policy to meet these requirements. Tennessee has specific insurance rules and regulations that you should be aware of when living or driving within the state.
Tennessee insurance law follows a tort system which simply means that after an accident, someone always will be found at fault for causing the accident. This person will then be responsible for paying for the financial damages that result from the accident.
All personal vehicles in Tennessee require the following liability coverage requirements:
- Bodily Injury
- Property Damage
|Minimum Tennessee Car Insurance Requirements|
|Bodily Injury Liability||$25,000 / $50,000 Limit|
|Property Damage Liability||$15,000 Limit|
Additional insurance coverage can include:
- Comprehensive and Collision Coverage
- Uninsured / Underinsured Motorist
Comprehensive and collision are optional but highly recommended, especially if your car is on the list of most stolen vehicles in Tennessee.
Comprehensive will pay for repairs or replacements if your car is broken into or has non-collision damage such as from a flood. Collision covers for repairs to your vehicle after being hit and damaged.
Uninsured / Underinsured insurance will protect you against drivers who cause an accident with you but either don’t have enough insurance or any at all to cover expenses.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
Establishing proof of insurance and financial responsibility
- Get a standard liability car insurance policy
- Post a bond or deposit with the Department of Safety (DOS)
- Self insurance – available to businesses with 25+ vehicles
In order to provide proof of insurance, you can provide one of the following:
- Insurance ID Card
- Insurance binder or declaration binder
- Certificate showing that you’ve posted a deposit or bond with the DOS
- When asked by a police officer
- After receiving a letter from the DMV
- After an accident
- When registering or renewing your vehicle’s registration
- Anytime you are operating a vehicle
- Suspension of license
- Suspension of your registration in the form of a STOP
- Fines of no more than $100
- You must maintain proof of insurance and financial responsibility and present it:
Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility Penalties
If you are unable to show proof of insurance, you can face the following penalties:
Tennessee Insurance Agents
Memphis Car Insurance | Knoxville Car Insurance | Chattanooga Car Insurance | Clarksville Car Insurance | Murfreesboro Car Insurance | Franklin Car Insurance | Jackson Car Insurance | Johnson City Car Insurance | Bartlett Car Insurance | Hendersonville Car Insurance | Kingsport Car Insurance | Collierville Car Insurance | Smyrna Car Insurance | Cleveland Car Insurance | Brentwood Car Insurance | Germantown Car Insurance | Columbia Car Insurance | Spring Hill Car Insurance