Kemper Insurance Reviews

  • 2.82 / 5 based on 56 Reviews | Submit Your Review
    Satisfaction
    Claims
    Cost
    Billing
    Service
  • Reviewing Insurance?
    Get a Free Insurance Quote Now!
    •  Privacy & Security Protected

    Kemper Insurance is a collection of different insurance companies located throughout the United States. Reserve National, Kemper Home Service, Kemper Direct, Kemper Specialty, Kemper Preferred, Kemper Life and Health Insurance and Kemper Property and Casualty Insurance all operate under the Kemper Insurance umbrella. The collective companies specialize in insurance products for families, individuals and small businesses. Kemper Insurance is licensed to operate in 42 of the 50 U.S. states and boasts of having over 7,500 agents operating across the country. They offer a number of different insurance products, including:

    Financial Ratings

    A.M. Best:A-
    S&P Rating:A-

    Company Information

    12926 Gran Bay Parkway West
    Jacksonville, FL 32258
    (904) 245-5600
    (904) 245-5617 (Fax)
    http://kemper.com


    Last Updated: 2018-05-25

    Company Reviews (56)

  • 10 of 10 people found the following review helpful.

    BEWARE ! They will bait & switch. , February, 2016

    Th Kemper Agent visited our location and we paid for 3 months of coverage for 5 people. When the policy came in, it was NOT for the coverage we paid for. It was much different with only partial coverage. The company had pulled a 'bait-and-switch' hoping we would not realized what had happened.

    • Health Insurance
    • Clayton, GA
    • 62 Year Old Male
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 8 of 8 people found the following review helpful.

    Rear ended by Kemper client, January, 2016

    I am not insured with Kemper; I was rear ended by a Kemper Insurance client. I was at a stop light, and when the light turned green, I was about to go, when I was hit very hard by a big pickup truck, from behind. My car was a small two seater sports car with rear engine. The back was smashed in. The license plate was driven into the engine compartment. The engine light came on. I could drive it, but it sounded really bad. I took it to a highly rated local mechanic who has been my mechanic for 20+ years. He told me the mufler and catlytic converter were ripped off the engine. The engine mounts are cracked. The tail-lights are no longer made by any parts maker. Short story, he says it is totaled. But Kemper sends an appraiser to the shop; she only looks at the outside body damage and gives an estimate of $2200, which is not even a fourth of the car's blue-book value. And that "offer" I dragged out of them after several weeks of calling them and asking them to deal with this and finally threatening to get a lawyer. If you are thinking to get insurance, think about what would happen if you make a mistake and cause someone else damage. Do you want your company insurance not to make themselves responsible for the damages, and possibly open you up to getting sued along with them? I hate the idea of getting a lawyer and starting a lawsuit; have never done it; but I see no other way out.

    • Car Insurance
    • College Station, TX
    • 49 Year Old Male
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 7 of 7 people found the following review helpful.

    Status of car still unsure after a month, July, 2016

    My fiance and I were involved in an accident where a car t-boned us, and since their insurance limit was only $5k, we had to go with our own.

    The accident happened on June 6, and it is July 1 today and they STILL dont know how much the damage of our car is worth (i.e. whether it's totaled or not).

    They told us in the 1st week that they should know by the next, so when we didn't receive a call in the 2nd week, we called them. They told us that there was a miscommunication with the appraisal and that it had been cancelled, so they had to reschedule, and so they should know by the 3rd week. I don't understand why there would even be a cancellation of the appraisal. So again, they told us that we should know by the 4th week.

    I called them on Wednesday (June 29), and our claim agent told us that they should know by the end of the day and she told ME to call HER for an update. So I told her, "No, you need to call us as soon as you find out", and she agreed.

    It is now Friday (June 1), and she still hasn't given us a call, so I called her this morning. She was unreachable (for the 4th time already this month), so I was transferred to another person, in which they said that the appraiser JUST received our car and that we should know by next Tuesday or Wednesday. I asked them if it normally takes this long, and she told me that it does take a while, but not this long. We then called HQ to complain, and all they said was that they "hope we know by next week". Wow.

    Since we don't know if our car has been totaled or not, we don't know if we need to buy a new car, so we've been paying out-of-pocket for a rental car since "we didn't opt for the rental reimbursement option" when we were never even told that there was such a thing.

    All in all, their claims department is a joke, and I can tell they do not consider their clients as a priority. They expect YOU to call and ask for updates.

    • Car Insurance
    • Santa Clara, CA
    • Female
    • Customer for 6 Months - 1 Year
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 7 of 7 people found the following review helpful.

    poor coverage, all show no go, May, 2016

    I got this so called insurance through a local insurance agent, this so called insurance (kemper) big on monthly payments demands but when it comes to cover the cost of the repair(fender bender) minus the deductible, they flake out. They will not cover

    • Car Insurance
    • Fort Stockton, TX
    • 46 Year Old Male
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 5 of 5 people found the following review helpful.

    Company treats surviving beneficiary horribly, February, 2017

    In September of 2016, Kemper Senior Solutions was mailed all of the documents needed by me as their POA. Both parents were in the Nursing Home and I had taken over their personal and financial business. When my father passed in January, I let Kemper know and they have continually provided horrible customer service and follow up. They have not paid on the claim, even though they said that they had what they needed. Instead they are giving me the run around. I am now waiting for additional documents to be faxed to me ( immediately). It has been 3 hours. If it were not for me, I have no idea what my mom would do or how she would be able to get her benefits. I am disgusted with this company. They treat their senior client so horrible.

    • Life Insurance
    • Garland, TX
    • Customer for 2 - 3 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 5 of 5 people found the following review helpful.

    High Rates, Terrible Service, July, 2015

    I was charged much more than the competition but got the policy for the first year because I didn't have time to shop around. When I cancelled a year later they lost my cancellation and charged me for an extra month. Now they are sending me to collections. Kemper customer service is the worst I have ever experienced, I'm just thankful I never needed them when it counted.

    • Car Insurance
    • National City, CA
    • Customer for 1 - 2 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful.

    Worse, June, 2017

    I have been on the phone with this company for back and forth for days regarding my vehicle. May 25, 2017, my vehicle was hit by one of their drivers and he is 100% liable. May 29, 2017 I received a call from Roy Rogers asking for information on where my car was located. I gave him the information because he stated that your agency gave him the wrong information and that on Tuesday he would go see my vehicle to do an estimate. On May 30, 2017, I spoke with Roy Rogers about my car and he stated that since he did not have the right information the first time that he was unable to go out and look at my car and had to seen someone else that was going to look at it on Wednesday. I was told by an agent that it would take a week or more to get the police report. I called the police station and they emailed me the police report in seconds. May 31, 2017, I finally spoke with their agency and they stated that claims adjuster went out that morning and looked at my vehicle but would not have an estimate until the next morning. June 1, 2017, I called the agency again to find out what is going with my car and was told that the claims adjuster has their estimates and were going to upload the information and that I will receive a call this afternoon. It is currently, 12:52 pm and I still have not heard anything about my car. I keep calling and getting people who do not know what it is going on and transferred to voice mails. I am extremely pissed off with this agency. This agency is the absolute worse. I can tell they are trying to drag it so that they do not have to pay for my car to be fixed by trying to see if they can take it out of storage fees. Who in their right mind would choose an insurance company this unprofessional? Yes, I plan to sue they driver and the insurance company if my car does not get fixed.

    • Other Insurance
    • Chapel Hill, NC
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful.

    The agents are inept, April, 2017

    My mom passed November of last year, it is now April and still are having issues with this company regarding her life insurance policy. They are not willing to give us her life insurance she paid on for years because the AGENT supposedly filled out the paperwork wrong. They should have addressed this issue years ago, now we are having to take them to court. They had no problem taking her money even when "the agent filled the paperwork out wrong"??This is the last thing a daughter wants to be going through after losing her mother!!! Also, every person we have talked to through this agency has been horrible. Not understanding at all.

    • Life Insurance
    • New Richmond, OH
    • 25 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 2 - 3 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful.

    Absolute TRASH of an Insurance Company, December, 2016

    Like most people who are in the process of switching to a different insurance company, I chose Kemper because I didn't really have the time to answer a million questions and be on the phone all day with different agents. So, I chose a company that basically relieves all the stresses of doing that by finding you an insurance company with the cheapest rates. Kemper. Kemper is a nightmare. NIGHTMARE. First of all, God forbid you have to process a claim because they don't even contact you to let you know the outcome of the investigation. If you have full coverage, they are most likely going to claim you as fault so they can send you a big check just to continue to increase your insurance premium. If you look at the cost of your policy; they have all these hidden fees that no one seems to be able to honestly answer. Which, I guess it would be rather difficult to answer a question honestly if the company you work for delivers nothing but a bunch of lies. So, I finally decided to bite the bullet and switch to a local company. Now, I cancelled my insurance with Kemper about a week or so before the policy ended and they are trying to claim I still owe them money. If I wasn't such a light hearted person, I might find this to be an offensive notion to my intelligence. You don't have to work in the insurance business to know and understand the way things work. If you buy something at Wal-Mart, then return it, they don't offer you a portion of your refund based upon the amount of time you've had the product. Right? Right. So, if you pay for a month's worth of insurance and cancel a week or so prior to the policy ending, YOU as a consumer owe the insurance company NOTHING...NADA....ZILCH....and in actuality THE INSURANCE COMPANY owes YOU the consumer the prorated difference. Nice try Kemper. Now, try picking on someone on your own level which is obviously a level below COMMON SENSE. Fellow consumers...you have been warned...and you're welcome.

    • Car Insurance
    • Austin, TX
    • Customer for 1 - 2 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful.

    Kemper is AWFUL!!!!!, June, 2016

    I am writing to issue a complaint about the poor service that I have received from Kemper Insurance company.

    After being rear-ended in a collision on March 11, 2016, the adjuster, Mr. Alberto Rios, rendered my Audi A4 a total loss. It was taken to a yard facility by the name of CoParts, but I was NOT notified of its removal of the collision repair center. As a result, the property items that were still in my vehicle were stolen and I have NOT received them.

    After repeatedly contacting the CoParts Yard Manager, Mr. Gerson Maldonado, and the Kemper agent, Mr. Alberto Rios, both employees callously told me that "there was nothing they could do to recover the lost items." Not only is this unprofessional, but egregious. A representative from Kemper should have contacted me to alert me to the fact that my vehicle was being moved to a new location. Why did Kemper choose not to do this? Had I been informed, of course, I would have dashed over to the site to recover my items before they were stolen or destroyed.

    Unfortunately, I now must warn other customers not to utilize Kemper auto insurance. The agents are overwhelmed and incapable of managing their clients.

    • Car Insurance
    • Los Angeles, CA
    • 29 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 2 - 3 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful.

    DON'T get Kemper!!! , March, 2017

    DON'T get Kemper. They have been absolutely terrible with my auto insurance from day 1! I spoke with a representative, Christina Mejia, who was a pleasure to talk with. I switch my insurance from American Family because they offered a lower payment. Come the first month bill, I find out that I was lied to about my monthly payment. They switched my payment plan without informing me or my consent! When I called to speak with Christina, she continued to tell me that I was wrong and Kemper was not over charging me. We solved the issue after talked for what felt like forever, just to see that the next month my insurance was raised even higher!!! I called to cancel my insurance to go back to American Family (I've been with them for years and they are a very trust worthy company) just to receive a bill in the mail 2 MONTHS later telling me that I owe $125 for cancelling my policy! I wasn't informed about this charge at all. I called to speak with Christina and she was out at the time. I left a message and was told she would get back to me shortly, and I STILL haven't heard back. I'm and very unsatisifed with Kemper altogether, especially with the lies and them thinking it is okay to change my policy WITHOUT my consent. I agreed to go through Kemper on terms we spoke about in the beginning, and all I did was get lied and cheated. I don't recommend anyone using Kemper for any sort of insurance. They are the absolute worst company, and a huge waste of money.

    • Car Insurance
    • Albany, OR
    • 21 Year Old Female
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful.

    Terrible customer service and do not pay claims, January, 2017

    A few years ago I sat in my house saw lightening strike my chimney. When the appraiser came out he told it had not been hit by lightening that because it is an old farmhouse (1812) the chimney had not been maintained. BUT, we had just put new piping thru that chimney to accommodate the heating system. Needless to say they did not pay. Now I am in another hassle with them. I purchased a condo and insured it with another company so the agent is mad that imdid not but thru her. She is hassling me, sending an inspector out to check the property without notifying me before the visit. Which is bad manners at the very least. Trespassing is a better description. I am selling that property so to much trouble to change but would never do business with them again. My husband was friends with the local agency office so for 30 plus years we did business (?) with them. The good old boy network is not often very friendly. Q

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Millersville, PA
    • Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 21 of 22 people found the following review helpful.

    Hard company to deal with, January, 2016

    I recently got in an accident and had my 2016 BMW M3 taken to a highly reviewed collision center that specialized in high end cars like Ferrari, Bentley, BMW and Mclaren . Kempers adjusters met with them after the break down and the collision center deemed it a "structural total loss".

    Right after the collision center called me and told me about the damage and there is no proper way to fix the vehicle to original specifications. Then the adjuster called me two days later and said with my permission they would like to take my M3 from Tustin it to San Diego (87 miles away) to get a second opinion. I said NO! because the collision specialist told me that they highly recommend not to repair the structural damage.

    I called the adjuster and the claim representative multiple times to get an update on my car. They never picked up or called back. I called the collision center to see what was going on and they told me that kemper was picking up my car! Even after I said NO!

    I finally got a hold of another claim representative that "sat behind" my claim rep. She told me that they were taking my car to "get a second look". I asked for the manager, got Roberts number and called him. After a few minutes of me explaining what was going. He told me that they want to "cut out a section of the structure and weld in new pieces" I then told him "I don't feel comfortable driving a performance vehicle that has been structurally repaired". After that he become hostile and threatened me with arbitation-mediation and said "it's going to cost you a lot of money" then I said I firmly stated for the record "NO" .

    I will be fighting this and taking it to court if i have to

    This company doesn't care about you or your safety

    They want to make money and cut corners and spend less

    go with another company

    Call me or email me if you have any questions or advice

    949 542 0192

    chris@bhhscdm.com

    Thank you

    Chris Meredith

    • Car Insurance
    • Newport Beach, CA
    • 26 Year Old Male
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 15 of 16 people found the following review helpful.

    I wish I could give a less than 1 star review!, March, 2016

    I was insured with Kemper for a few years. Always was unhappy with their service so eventually I got fed up and canceled it. Today I got a letter in the mail from them. Included with the letter was a check for $5.84 .. in the letter it said "Concerning your above referenced insurance policy: We recently discovered that the premium calculation on your auto policy included an incorrect fee charge. You will be receiving a refund of the cancellation fee, plus interest, soon. Please contact customer service … " etc. So the original cancelation fee was almost $50. and according to their letter they would be sending the full amount "plus interest" when I called in to inquire I was met with attitude and they told me "$5.84 is all you're getting!" They encouraged me to take legal action against them and I told them I would just write bad reviews on every site I could as when I was insured I paid on time monthly and felt I didn't receive services I paid for. Example. The last car accident I was in was caused by the driver behind me and I was rear ended. Kemper found me at fault for this and thats the final straw that led me to canceling my insurance policy with them.

    This is a terrible insurance company. I hope they go out of business because they are robbing people and getting away with it. Another instance I had with them was when my car was parked.. I wasn't even in the vehicle and it was struck by a moving vehicle right in front of me. I was still found at fault. Kemper specialty is a scam from the word go. STAY AWAY! Save yourself the aggravation. The customer service representatives like to argue and they are very VERY difficult to deal with.

    • Car Insurance
    • San Diego, CA
    • Customer for 3 - 5 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 13 of 14 people found the following review helpful.

    Scary Experience, July, 2015

    I used Select Quote to buy Kemper policies for my main home, a rental home, my auto, and an umbrella. I received quotes for all four and authorized all four. After being a customer for a few months, I realized that I wasn't being charged for the rental home policy. I urgently contacted them to find out that the policy for the rental home was never active. Select Quote could provide no explanation and offered no policy. To add insult to injury, when they did actually activate my policy, I was dinged for not having had continuous coverage for the rental home. My policy was 50% more than what I was originally quoted.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Fresno, CA
    • 40 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 1 - 2 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 10 of 11 people found the following review helpful.

    Garbage, October, 2015

    Discontinued me after 2 months. What a joke of a company. I would not recommended this to anyone. Buyer beware. Disgusting service as well

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Milwaukee, WI
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 9 of 10 people found the following review helpful.

    Don't Even Think About It!, July, 2016

    I was a Kemper customer for almost 10 years. My agent won my business by offering lower premiums over a competitor. I had my home and vehicles insured by Kemper. We had a storm come through this past spring, and had some roof damage. The adjuster came out, and was very vague about the process for having our roof repaired. His report recommended, and Kemper agreed, to only replacing the front half of our roof! I met with 5 roofing contractors and none of them had ever heard of such nonsense. Needless to say I forked out over 6k for a complete roof job. Kemper ponied up $400, as they only covered 1/2 of the roof and I had a 3k deductible (thanks again Mr "Family Friend/I'm a Christian" agent). The customer service rep Chris was the rudest, most unprofessional person I've run across in a long time. My advice to Kemper customers is to run away from these blood-suckers as fast as you can, before you have to file a claim! And if you're considering becoming a customer, Don't Do It!!!

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Lexington, SC
    • 46 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 9 of 10 people found the following review helpful.

    Worth and longest service ever!!!, April, 2016

    This was our first car claim using Kemper. First of all, it took 3 weeks to get the authorization from Kemper to start working on the car, since we decided to use Mazda's services. Another 2 weeks got to fix the car, each time came up new part of car that had to be fixed and each time Mazda waited for additional authorization. Finally, after almost 6 weeks of waiting and getting calls almost every day, one of the issues WAS NOT FIXED !!! The apprizer based on HER EXPERIENCE told us, that this damage from previous car accident (by the way, this car never was in a car accident that required any kind of fixing). So, she told us that this fix is chip and we can do it on our own for 200$! We pay... Sorry payed Kemper 150$ full coverage insurance. Also, her conclusions were based on pictures only. Worth service EVER!!!

    • Car Insurance
    • San Diego, CA
    • Female
    • Customer for 1 - 2 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 6 of 7 people found the following review helpful.

    Worst Company EVER!, July, 2015

    They make a profit doing everything they should not, ( deny and delay claims) and not doing what they should. (Stand behind the policy and up hold their obligations.) They hope that claimants will be too weak to go to court. This company is a disease, avoid it as such.

    • Car Insurance
    • Pocatello, ID
    • Customer for 6 Months - 1 Year
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 8 of 10 people found the following review helpful.

    They are disloyal to their own agents, January, 2016

    If a company isn't concerned about the people that sell it's product they CERTAINLY aren't concerned about the policy holders. The customer service reps are rude and go out of their way it seems to NOT be helpful. The underwriter's are either too lazy to do their job or too busy to do it, I haven't figured out which. They spent 5 years paying every single claim that got called in with complete disregard as to whether or not the policyholder's had coverage and then turned around and blamed the agents for having such high loss ratios. And then SURPRISE they lost A LOT of money and have been taking huge rate increases every year since trying to make up for it. How do you explain to a customer why after having their insurance with a company for 15 years and having no losses their policy went up $1000+....YOU CAN'T. And then for awhile they decided they to put a freeze on new business all together, what their reasoning behind that was I'll never know. They are unreliable and over reactive. I represent 7 companies and they are by far the worst company to work with.

    • Other Insurance
    • Atlanta, GA
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 4 of 5 people found the following review helpful.

    Terrible customer service!, September, 2016

    I can't believe how terrible these people were to work with! I had auto insurance through Kemper for about 5 years, and decided to give them a call one day to see if I could bundle my plan and increase my savings. They informed me of a new marraige discount, and coincidentally I just got married 2 weeks ago so I was thrilled about the discount. My husband does not drive my car, and he has insurance on his own vehicle, but they needed his license number. Apparently he had a traffic violation on his record from 3 years ago that will be disappearing off his record in the next month and now they not only will not give me the discount, but they are increasing my price by $95 for the rest of the year! Had I waited 1 month this would not have happened. The lady I spoke with was very rude in the phone, and when I asked if after 1 month, when the ticket was off his record, if we could change the plan she said that I would need to call back then and they can see what they can do about removing that extra charge! Unbelievable. I will never use not recommend Kemper to anyone.

    • Car Insurance
    • Saint Francis, MN
    • 28 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 3 - 5 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 7 of 9 people found the following review helpful.

    Raising of rates, May, 2015

    They continue to raise my rates. Have had One claim on our house in 32 years. Was told that it is standard to raise it 4% every year. Sick of it. Looking elsewhere.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Sheboygan Falls, WI
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 7 of 9 people found the following review helpful.

    Syracuse Office , January, 2015

    I was insured through Kemper for under a year due to the incompetency of the agents and inability to help or understand . An agency should not try to take advantage of me or my policy.

    • Car Insurance
    • La Fayette, NY
    • Customer for 6 Months - 1 Year
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 10 of 13 people found the following review helpful.

    cost went up, April, 2015

    Have never filed a claim but the cost went way up this year.

    • Car Insurance
    • Mishawaka, IN
    • 52 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 3 - 5 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 3 of 4 people found the following review helpful.

    Needs better service on claims representative, September, 2016

    They need better service on claims representative the app was kind of confusing and I honestly feel like they estimated the claim low I'm going to get a second opinion with a professional collision repair center I will leave another review notifying what happened with second appraisal

    • Car Insurance
    • Pomona, CA
    • 26 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 6 Months - 1 Year
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 3 of 4 people found the following review helpful.

    Worst Claim Service, August, 2016

    My vehicle was hit by a Kemper insured driver. They accepted liability and were responsible for the damages. The told me to upload pics of my vehicle including damages on their app so I did. They then wrote an estimate based solely off the pictures. I then took the vehicle to my dealer which they did in person and they gave me a completely different estimate which took longer to repair and cost as well. When we asked for a rental vehicle the adjuster Darrel Brooks told us that they only owe for reasonable transportation. I have a full size suv and kids and this idiot wanted to put me in a compact car saying it was reasonable. I then escalated this to his manager Dayna who Ive left multiple voicemails and had other claim reps send priority emails to her and transferred me to her when she WAS available and still I have not heard a response or anything from her. Worst service ever!!!!! Please don't consider signing up with this company.

    • Car Insurance
    • Magna, UT
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 11 of 16 people found the following review helpful.

    me, February, 2013

    This is a good company but Kemper has tripled my rates and they don't know why, nor does my agent.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Wheat Ridge, CO
    • 52 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 2 of 3 people found the following review helpful.

    Excellent service and claims handling, September, 2016

    With a competitive product and excellent customer service and claims handling, it's no wonder why Kemper is one of the best insurance companies in California.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Vista, CA
    • 34 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 1 - 2 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 6 of 10 people found the following review helpful.

    not continue new insurance, April, 2013

    I do not think my house will damage by hurriane in

    the future. I replaced the new vinyl siding and

    shingle on my house. They will not renew the

    home owner insurance in 2013, because the claims occurred in the past.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Little Neck, NY
    • 53 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 3 of 6 people found the following review helpful.

    The Best I've found so far..., September, 2016

    Being very analytical, when I originally purchased our insurance coverage for our Home and Cars, I looked into several carriers. I liked the fact that their homeowners policy is an Open perils or All-Risk policy which very few carriers offer because it has very few exclusions. Most insurance companies only offer a standard policy which is laden with conditions and exclusions. They also offered the lowest premium! In addition, the Automobile policy was also solid and did not have liability limitations for guests that occasionally drive my cars, which can end up costing your lifestyle if they cause a serious accident. (A colleague of mine nearly lost his home this way) Plus there was a 20% discount on both for their package plan. We've had 2 claims and in both cases the adjusters were prompt and I received a check within days not weeks. We've been insured with Kemper for over 8 years now and the rates have stayed virtually the same. Also,My independent agent was very knowledgeable and was able to educate me on some things that I wasn't aware of. I didn't get that with Costco or Geico. Overall very satisfied with this company and the agent.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • San Marcos, CA
    • 48 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 2 of 4 people found the following review helpful.

    Great Renters insurance, June, 2013

    Kemper has great renters insurance and its too bad that dont carry insurnace for Nebraska as thats where we are moving to.

    • Renters Insurance
    • Grand Island, NE
    • 48 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 2 of 4 people found the following review helpful.

    Kemper Stopped Writing Homeowners Policies in NC, July, 2012

    Kemper stopped offering homeowners coverage in North Carolina

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Franklin, NC
    • 65 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 2 of 5 people found the following review helpful.

    Solid Company with great rates, June, 2016

    I asked my Agent about companies and he highly recommended Kemper based on their stability and history. I have not had a problem at all with the company, even when my teenage daughter 'dinged' our car.

    • Car Insurance
    • Murrieta, CA
    • Male
    • Customer for 3 - 5 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    This place is a cheap scam!!, January, 2018

    They tried to offer less then half of the cars worth after the person insured by them hit the car n totaled it. Destroyed his car!! He put some much into that car and it was ruined by a careless driver. They assessed it and are trying to offer him a horrible sum to resolve the case. They arent even accredited by the BBB. Just cheap and taking peoples money.

    • Other Insurance
    • Rock Hill, SC
    • 31 Year Old Female
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    Best Insurance Company I've ever had, January, 2018

    I had Kemper/Unitrin for over 10 years. Over that time, I had 4 claims. One for me, one for my wife, and two for one teen driver. Yes, they raised the rates after an accident, but that's normal course of business for insurance. When we DID have claims, they were EXCELLENT. Never tried to pinch pennies with us, and were friendly and timely with their claims. My teen even had two back to back accidents and they were friendly and kind to a very stressed household at the time. Unfortunately, they don't offer coverage in my new state, as I lived in Oregon for many years and never felt the need to switch from them.

    • Car Insurance
    • Salem, OR
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    Terrible svc,avoided calls, November, 2017

    To much time involved w a claim they negated responsibiltyterrible bottom feeder company,cost me so much time trackimg down title issues they should have handled, nightmare of an experience

    • Other Insurance
    • Frederick, MD
    • 42 Year Old Male
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    customer service is horrible, November, 2017

    the customer is the worst i have ever had from a auto insurance company! all this company has done to assist me has been nothing but the run around every time i contact them

    • Car Insurance
    • Palmdale, CA
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 2 people found the following review helpful.

    Kemper has come back into Mainstream again, September, 2016

    Kemper is easy to use and our Marketing Rep is the best. The only customer service I am happy with is from our Marketing Rep.

    • Car Insurance
    • Liverpool, NY
    • Female
    • Customer for 2 - 3 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 5 people found the following review helpful.

    October, 2014

    Great company!!

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Fairfield, CT
    • 70 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 5 people found the following review helpful.

    price went up, August, 2012

    my police doubled when i wqs told it would stay the same no happy with that

    • Renters Insurance
    • Caseville, MI
    • 43 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 2 - 3 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    Best claim process I've had, September, 2016

    The claim was quick fast and easy just like it should be. The check was sent to the shop I paid my deductible, picked up my car and it was done. Just the way it should be.

    • Car Insurance
    • Wildomar, CA
    • 45 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 2 people found the following review helpful.

    review, September, 2016

    insurance was very reasonable, customer service was great as well. Everything was very easy and when calling the customer service they were very helpful

    • Car Insurance
    • New Hartford, NY
    • Customer for 6 Months - 1 Year
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 2 people found the following review helpful.

    Auto/Home/Umbrella, August, 2016

    I have been with Kemper Preferred for over a year and am very happy with the company. I love having my auto, home and umbrella on one policy! I previously had three different companies with my bills being due at all different times. I only have to deal with one payment per month with Kemper and they do EFT which is perfect. One of the things that sold me on their homeowners was their blanket amount on the property coverage which gives me the freedom to use the coverage as needed if I have a claim, rather than having a specific amount on the dwelling and a specific amount on contents. I feel confident that if I have a claim with Kemper, I will have the coverage that I need.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Hamburg, NY
    • 55 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 1 - 2 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 2 people found the following review helpful.

    Best there is, June, 2016

    I am very pleased with Kemper. I will not go anywhere else. Great service, price, and benefits! I highly recommend them.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Wildomar, CA
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 3 of 10 people found the following review helpful.

    February, 2013

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Auburndale, FL
    • 78 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 3 - 5 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 6 people found the following review helpful.

    October, 2012

    • Renters Insurance
    • Walled Lake, MI
    • 39 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 2 - 3 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 3 people found the following review helpful.

    August, 2015

    • Renters Insurance
    • Altamonte Springs, FL
    • 35 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 2 - 3 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 7 people found the following review helpful.

    April, 2014

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Rowlett, TX
    • 60 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 5 people found the following review helpful.

    February, 2014

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Los Banos, CA
    • 69 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 2 - 3 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 5 people found the following review helpful.

    December, 2013

    • Renters Insurance
    • Roscoe, IL
    • 41 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 3 people found the following review helpful.

    August, 2013

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Perris, CA
    • 81 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 4 people found the following review helpful.

    August, 2013

    • Renters Insurance
    • Asheville, NC
    • 34 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 1 - 2 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 4 people found the following review helpful.

    January, 2013

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Gaffney, SC
    • 37 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 4 people found the following review helpful.

    September, 2012

    • Renters Insurance
    • Warren, MI
    • 57 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 2 - 3 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    good, October, 2016

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Palm Desert, CA
    • 65 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 2 - 3 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    April, 2016

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Clearwater, FL
    • 56 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

More About Kemper Insurance

Vehicle
  • Auto
  • Commercial Auto
  • Boat
Property
  • Home
  • Renters
  • Condo
  • Personal Valuables
  • Collectibles
Additional Insurance
  • Personal Catastrophe
  • Identity Fraud
  • Package
Lifestyle
  • Life Insurance
  • Health Insurance

Discounts are available on Kemper Insurance products, based on the following criteria and the type of insurance purchased: Auto Insurance Discounts

  • Airbags
  • Anti-lock brakes
  • Anti-theft devices
  • Automatic safety belts
  • Driver training
  • Kids away at college
  • Multiple cars
Home Insurance Discounts
  • Home sprinkler systems
  • Fire and burglar alarms
  • Fire extinguishers
  • Smoke detectors
  • Deadbolt locks

The Kemper Insurance website offers information on each type of insurance policy available, as well as on the company itself. From there, you can locate an agent or purchase an insurance policy online, although this is only available for particular types of insurance. There is also a password protected section for current Kemper Insurance customers, where policies can be managed, claims can be filed and payments can be made.