Farmers Car Insurance Reviews

  • 2.30 / 5 based on 101 Reviews | Submit Your Review
    Satisfaction
    Claims
    Cost
    Billing
    Service
  • Reviewing Farmers?
    Save up to 75%. Compare Quotes Now!
    •  Privacy & Security Protected

    Farmers Insurance Company was founded in 1928 as an insurer of privately owned automobiles. Today, the company employs more than 18,000 people, not including hundreds of independent agents. They are the third largest writer of auto insurance policies in the country, with more than 15 million policies currently in force.

    Financial Ratings

    A.M. Best:A
    S&P Rating:A+
    Moody's Rating:A2

    Company Information

    P.O. Box 4402
    Woodland Hills, CA 91365
    (913) 234-3932
    (323) 932-4266 (Fax)
    http://farmers.com


    Last Updated: 2019-09-11

    Company Reviews (101)

  • 13 of 13 people found the following review helpful.

    Terrible Customer Service, February, 2016

    I was with Farmer's Insurance for 2-3 years. They are the worst! They increased my payment by almost 50% when I moved an hour away from my previous location. I tried to fight back on the increase but they insisted it was correct.

    I went to other providers to see what my cost would be elsewhere and found way better prices. I quickly found out Farmer's had shown one of my accidents as my fault when it was clear the other person was at fault. I called them to question this and they quickly reassured me they changed the status. I realized I was being ripped off pretty quickly and canceled.

    My representative was terrible as well. She rarely responded to my emails/calls and when she did, she would provide me with the toll-free number and had attitude. I hated calling her and was so happy to tell her I was canceling when I did. STAY AWAY from farmers!

    • Car Insurance
    • Eden Prairie, MN
    • Customer for 2 - 3 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 12 of 12 people found the following review helpful.

    not a happy former customer, January, 2016

    After trying to charge me 1000 dollars for cancelling my policy without my authorization and the reinstating it after theyre mess up you can say im not a very happy former customer Thanks Alot Farmers!

    • Car Insurance
    • Montgomery, TX
    • 20 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 6 Months - 1 Year
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 9 of 9 people found the following review helpful.

    Policy ESTIMATES half of actual cost., December, 2015

    I submitted a request for a quote for insurance for a particular car and it was $1046 for 6 months. When I bought the car they raised the price to $1840 for 6 months. Agents very unresponsive. What is the point of giving an inaccurate estimate. They had nothing to say about this. Pass.

    • Car Insurance
    • Oakland, CA
    • 55 Year Old Female
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 46 of 49 people found the following review helpful.

    auto claim, June, 2013

    Hit a deer and totalled car, was advised right that day so could shop for new car asap. Check

    for old car electronically deposited and claim

    settled. Farmers paid me more that I paid for car.

    • Car Insurance
    • Omaha, NE
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 33 of 36 people found the following review helpful.

    Poor service, October, 2014

    We filed a claim over 3 weeks ago and have still not heard when we can get the car repaired. At first the farmers rep said they would not cover the accident. She was obviously unfamiliar with coverage. Now we have been waiting to get the ok to have car repaired. Annoying and inconvenient and would hate to have been in a more serious accident with this insurance company.

    • Car Insurance
    • Willoughby, OH
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 32 of 35 people found the following review helpful.

    refused to pay doctor bills, October, 2014

    Even though I was hit, and my car was in the repair shop for 3 days Farmers refused to pay for my 2 doctor appts. That is all I was asking $218. The adjuster was rude and condescending. The policy cost is not worth dealing with unprofessional people only concerned with getting a bonus for not paying out on my claim.

    • Car Insurance
    • Dallas, TX
    • 44 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 2 - 3 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 10 of 11 people found the following review helpful.

    Do not sign up for autopay., May, 2015

    We have had farmers car insurance for 3 years before any problems were noticed. At the end of the year in 2014 our rates miraculously increased an amazing 50% with to notice by phone, text, email or bird with a message on its foot. Contacted agent and was told that it was our fault and they had been trying to reach us for a year. Why did the rates increase instantly if they had been trying to contact us for so long? Well, they make no effort to contact you personally so you have to check the website daily to find out what your rates are going to be that month. I tried a love chat with someone named Derek at farmers and I'm here to tell you that you are better off beating your head against the wall than talking to this guy. The most unhelpful, rude, conducending, and blame full individual I have ever spoken to. If my rates don't decrease to previous amounts I will be switching companies. Even if my rates do decrease I am going to cancel outpay and paperless so that I know what they are trying to charge me before it is to late. I bet I will get PLENTY of notices via phone call, email and text if my payment is due.

    • Car Insurance
    • Richardson, TX
    • Customer for 3 - 5 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 19 of 21 people found the following review helpful.

    Would give them zero stars if I could!, April, 2015

    My family has been with farmers for 30+ years. We have 2 homes, 5 cars, and 3 boats all insured by farmers. I recently submitted my first claim with farmers because another drive failed to yield while making a left turn and crashed into me while I was going straight through the intersection. There was one extremely intoxicated witness who claims that I ran the light red. Farmers did not look at the police report and did not go over evidence of the way that the lights are programmed ( I spoke with the traffic engineer from our county) which proves that it would be physically impossible for the lights to work the way the witness claims. Instead he said the only thing that matters is what the witness said they saw and therefore I am at fault. THIS IS COMPLETELY RIDICULOUS. STAY AWAY FROM CHRISTOPHER NOLTE. If he is your claims adjuster RUN FAR FAR AWAY. He will do absolutely nothing to help you and he told me that it didn't matter if I had factual evidence, all the matters is what the witness claims they saw. After 30 years with famers we will be going to geico.

    • Car Insurance
    • Wilsonville, OR
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 28 of 31 people found the following review helpful.

    Farmers Harassment, May, 2015

    I had two auto policies with Farmers, which were both paid in full through February 28, 2015. On January 8, 2015, I sent a payment of $418.70 for the renewal of both policies, but then later canceled both of the renewal requests, as I went with a different insurance carrier. Farmers only refunded ONE of the renewal payments in the amount of $298.14, leaving an amount DUE ME of $120.56 ($418.70 – 298.14 = $120.56.)

    When they refused to give me the full reimbursement, my credit card company reimbursed me this amount. But Farmers continues to allege that I owe them $120.56.

    Even though I have sent them numerous letters and emails explaining their error and why I do not owe them anything, they continue to send me statements - and now I am even receiving COLLECTION NOTICES!!

    Farmers needs to CORRECT THEIR RECORDS and STOP HARASSING ME!!!!!

    • Car Insurance
    • Redlands, CA
    • 59 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 1 - 2 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 16 of 18 people found the following review helpful.

    Too Much Hassle, January, 2012

    Stated billing amount was wrong, have gotten four different billing statements. No one ever call back and when they do they still cannot give me tyhe ccorrect answers. Just entirely too much Hassle.

    • Car Insurance
    • Phoenix, AZ
    • 29 Year Old Female
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 8 of 9 people found the following review helpful.

    Horable all around, June, 2016

    these people gave me the lowest quote when I originally needed insurance. I has to finance so needed full coverage. original cost around $90. went up every 6 months when rrenewed from 2-8$. currently paying 120$ never any accidents, claims etc. when asked y I was told because of others being underinsured or not at all (y do I pay for others mistakes). when called my agent he told me I did not have the right to be upset.originally signed up for paperless but never got the renewed insurance cards. could not open their link and they would not help me either. because of this I switched back to paper and they r charge ng me and extra 2$ and I still don't get my insurance card every 6 months when I renew. switched coverage over to liability only because I had to junk my car and a gap in insurance would make my rates go up even more. liability only saves me $23 a month . I did a quote online for progressive and their rates would save me over twice what I pay at this company for full coverage. switching as soon as I get a new vehicle.

    • Car Insurance
    • Milwaukee, WI
    • 26 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 3 - 5 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 8 of 9 people found the following review helpful.

    Horrible company, May, 2016

    I have been with Farmers over 30 years. They have overcharged me for who knows how many of those years. This company will rip you off! Customer service is horrible, good luck trying to get a discrepency on your bill fixed, no matter how many times you call and are assured it's being handled they blow you off. Canceled policy after 50 years. I save half of what I use to pay in premiums by switching.

    • Car Insurance
    • Salt Lake City, UT
    • 75 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 8 of 9 people found the following review helpful.

    bad faith insurance, January, 2015

    expensive sports car was damaged with frame damage. Refused to total and rebuilt at essentially the same expense but left me with a car that was worth much less.

    • Car Insurance
    • Shawnee Mission, KS
    • 58 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 23 of 26 people found the following review helpful.

    WHY??, March, 2013

    i've been with farmer's for over 10 yrs and only have filed one auto claim due an accident (weather related in 2005). i understand the increase in premimum due the claim, but it seems that it keeps going up lately (either it's my area or too many claims filed). the staff is very friendly and helpful and i appreciate that, but i'm now in my 30's and it seems that i'm paying more than i did when i was in my 20's. looks like i'll be switching soon. :(

    • Car Insurance
    • Dallas, TX
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 51 of 58 people found the following review helpful.

    Always get an Attorney When Dealing with Farmers, April, 2013

    Farmers will not pay. They try to delay and neglect until statue of limitations expires. You have to sue the policy holder personally to get paid, even when the policy holder is ticketed at the scene. Farmers claims adjusters do not respond and threaten to leave you holding all the medical bills if you don't agree to their offer. They should be investigated by the state.

    • Car Insurance
    • McKinney, TX
    • Customer for 6 Months - 1 Year
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 28 of 32 people found the following review helpful.

    this Insurance company is not good, April, 2013

    I renewed my insurance in December for 6 months then in March i received another bill saying they did not catch last year (September) when i sold my house it dropped off. Then i pay my 2006 cobalt plpd of 469.70 last month and now im getting another bill saying oh they forgot to subtract the home discount thats not my problem you can not do your job. I am moving all my (30 cars, Motorcycle, camper and home that i am closing on next month to security first they are $2000 cheaper per year. their number is 800-530-9225 his name is Jeff Zdenek. I will be leaving farmers after 16 years with them and they do not care either.

    • Car Insurance
    • Burton, MI
    • 45 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 19 of 22 people found the following review helpful.

    Much less than impressed, December, 2014

    I had a 21st insurance policy for years, but they told me that they couldn't cover my trucks now that they were work vehicles with my personal vehicle and I had to use Farmers to get coverage.

    Farmers insisted that I had to have separate policies and my insurance cost per year almost doubled (covering the same vehicles).

    I asked my GL insurer if they could give me a quote and not only could they include both personal and work vehicles on one policy it was about 3/4 of the cost. Naturally I switched over. With 21st if I was late in payment (contracting is not a steady check), they would terminate coverage, but farmers also sent a bill for additional cost and when I went to pay them 27 days after due date they already sent it to collections. Farmers as an insurer has been my worse experience with an insurance company I have dealt with in my 30 years of driving.

    • Car Insurance
    • Vallejo, CA
    • 44 Year Old Male
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 18 of 21 people found the following review helpful.

    to high, January, 2012

    i have my home and two cars and i think it is to high. i have a 2003 cavalier, and a 2010 pontic, and it is about $1100 for six months. i'am on disability and that is just to much.

    • Car Insurance
    • Customer for 1 - 2 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 6 of 7 people found the following review helpful.

    Farmers was there for us!, March, 2016

    Recently, my husband and I were involved in a car accident. My husband rear-ended another vehicle. Scariest moments of our lives. Luckily, the person we hit was ok. My husband has been driving for over 50 years without an accident, so this really shook us up. Farmers was there for us from start to finish. They made sure we were okay and also the other driver. They paid for a rental car so we could find a new car. The amount they paid us for our totalled car was more than fair. The communication and customer care was first rate. Thank you Farmers for coming through for us and giving us a reason to stick with you. We will highly recommend Chris Davis and his staff when anyone asks about insurance!!!

    • Car Insurance
    • Chandler, AZ
    • Customer for 1 - 2 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 17 of 20 people found the following review helpful.

    nightmares of agents.., October, 2014

    At first we were able to get in touch with our agent. At least for the first week.Very quickly it turned south. We were no longer able to get in touch with her for any needs. It tool two months for the, at actually get our address correct for renters insurance. Our names never got corrected for can insurance. When we tried to switch agents within the company no one ever called us back to switch. Every time I called my agent the line was answered by a magic jack voice mail. When I finally was fed up with it enough to switch company's I realized how ,much I was being ever charged for terrible insurance coverage and even worse service. I would probably even go with the general over farmers. Probably get better service!

    • Car Insurance
    • Salem, VA
    • Customer for 2 - 3 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 40 of 48 people found the following review helpful.

    Belittled, May, 2013

    Was insured by farmers for past 5 years, then sitting at a stop light my 2yr old son and I was hit by a drunk driver. Who was also insured through farmers. I was stopped at the light after picking my son up from babysitter after I got off of work. I had 48k in medical bills and farmers only wanted to reimburse me 13k. Not even enough to cover medical bills. Finally they agreed to 60k still not enough to pay medical bills and another vechicle. They I formed me we could go to trial but they would make sure that the jury knew I was convicted of a felony 9 years ago and said sorry if this bothers you, but we need to save money in tough economical times. I reluctantly accepted the offer, but only after I let them know how morally wrong farmers is.

    2 people insured by same company. One was drunk one sober and farmers defends the drunk to make sure they save money. 2 more years and I will finally be able to live life after paying the rest of my medical bills since farmers said they don't care about their clients.

    If you are a good person you should not go with farmers. Because you might make a mistake that hurts someone, but the company you pay to represent you doesn't care if they take responsibility or not.

    • Car Insurance
    • Indianapolis, IN
    • 33 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 3 - 5 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 10 of 12 people found the following review helpful.

    Professionalism is absent, August, 2015

    I have over 8 policies between business & personal for over 10+ yrs. with zero claim.

    1st claim: reporting cracked windshield took 25 min. on phone. Offered only wind shield replacement by their contractor who can't calibrate safety device - lane departure camera attached to wind shield. Promised to email details same day but no reply for 3 days so far. What's insurance for? I will leave Farmers and encourage others too. Dumb, stingy business practice.

    • Car Insurance
    • Hacienda Heights, CA
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 17 of 21 people found the following review helpful.

    Poor customer service, December, 2012

    I won't be renewing. The price is higher than some others and rate lower than you expected. Good thing I checked web for rating.

    • Car Insurance
    • Redlands, CA
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 8 of 10 people found the following review helpful.

    Confusing fees. Costs going upon crazy, February, 2013

    Every renewal basically Increase the cost by 20%. They send me a debt collector for a service I never used. They hide things and assume you know their tricks. Not recommended

    • Car Insurance
    • Burr Oak, MI
    • Customer for 1 - 2 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 4 of 5 people found the following review helpful.

    Best Company Ever, November, 2015

    I was with Nationwide for 28 years and was seriously overpaying for the same coverage as I now have with Farmers. I saved over $800.00/year by switching. Unfortunately, I hit a deer within 3 months of changing to Farmer's but was given no hassle! They fixed my vehicle 1,2,3 and now had to use my roadside assistance- with no hassle. I love this company!

    • Car Insurance
    • Falls, PA
    • 50 Year Old Female
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 4 of 5 people found the following review helpful.

    Outragoue Famers Bum Dum Bum Bum Bum Bum, November, 2013

    My wife and I signed up with Farmers Insurance under the office of Curtis Szucs after shopping around and finding that Farmers would provide the best price. We provided our information (License number, social, vehicle information, all of the norm.) For over 10 months our rates were not as low as we would have liked but were still lower than any other insurance providers and we were satisfied with their service. This all changed however when we began to receive bills of over double our normal amount of the past 10 months. Although there had been no changes to our policy, driving record, vehicle, nor had any claims, or anything else our bill still had doubled in price without any explanation. We were enrolled in online payments so it the amount was taken out of our checking account every month automatically. (Had we not been paying attention who knows how much we would have ended up paying!) Upon contacting the offices of Curtis Szucs about this continuing over priced bill, a very unprofessional and inadequate woman whom we spoke with on several occasions, tried to assist us. On our third attempt of finding answers from this very "pleasant" women, she conveyed to us that they did not have ANY of our information. No license numbers, no social security numbers, they were not even aware of our driving record (Which was spotless and had nothing on it, but how do you insure someone for 1 whole year without even knowing whom you are insuring or their driving record?!) Upon giving our information to the women for a second time in over a year, they recalculated our cost of insurance with the same coverage, and it went up even more to almost 3 times as much as what we were initially paying. She could not explain the reason behind this outrageous price and even recommended that we cancel our plan as we did immediately. We did thankfully receive a very small refund of less than a 1quarter of a monthly payment upon cancelation.

    • Car Insurance
    • Bellevue, OH
    • 21 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 6 Months - 1 Year
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 16 of 21 people found the following review helpful.

    worst ever, November, 2013

    worst insurance company I ever used. service is really bad policies are a ONE BIG JOKE. they do not care about the clients at all. its all about company keeping the money in the company. Im currently using a unknown company I found online and have lot more better service and faster claim process and lot less on the bills. farmers is one of those big company that has thumb up the ass. never again use farmers ins.

    lots of good options on the net use small privet companies they are the real insurance companies.

    FARMERS INS "YOU SUCK and I WANT MY MONEY BACK"

    • Car Insurance
    • Paso Robles, CA
    • Customer for 6 Months - 1 Year
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 12 of 16 people found the following review helpful.

    will switch, February, 2012

    We are not happy with this company. I went to office to assess increases. stated they would look into it. They never did

    • Car Insurance
    • Farmland, IN
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 9 of 12 people found the following review helpful.

    Extremely Dissatisfied Customer!, June, 2014

    My new job asked to be added onto my insurance policy, causing my initial policy to increase by 600 dollars annually. I began to inquire about alternative insurances. Finally, I ran across Farmers. Johanna quoted me for half the amount. I gave her all of the conditions I needed for my new policy. Two days later, five minutes before the office closed on Memorial weekend, she states that she will now need to double my policy. She said she 'didn't know' she would have to up my mileage to change my policy to business use. Well her "NOT KNOWING" has cost me $300 and they REFUSE to waive my cancellation fee!!!! Even though it was their agent's mistake! Read everything thoroughly before you sign and pay because their agents are obviously not sufficiently trained and you cannot trust them.

    • Car Insurance
    • Sun City, CA
    • 22 Year Old Female
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 9 of 12 people found the following review helpful.

    STAY AWAY FROM MICHAEL HALONEN AT FARMERS!, December, 2012

    I received a quote from another insurance agency, so I asked my agent (Michael Halonen) if he could match it. He said he could beat the other offer by quite a bit.

    I went back and forth with him for two months as he then gave me one excuse after another as to why the new rate was way off. He thanked me for being patient each time and blew me off. Three Months later, I've overpaid by over $300, and he's done nothing about it. It is one excuse after another trying to get it resolved.

    I would NOT recommend this agency to anyone. I went elsewhere and have good customer service, for $50/month LESS. I should have switched years ago!

    • Car Insurance
    • Minneapolis, MN
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 6 of 8 people found the following review helpful.

    premiums are increasing every year, August, 2015

    Have had Farmers auto insurance for over 30 years. Due to high premiums I had to change companies. Insured for less than half with another company.

    • Car Insurance
    • Frankston, TX
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 3 of 4 people found the following review helpful.

    Dishonest Business, Abusive Agent, August, 2015

    I understand that, as an opinionated young woman who's not afraid to speak up for herself when she's been slighted, I can be intimidating to some (especially those with guilty consciences). That seemed to be the case for Chris Drake (from the Las Vegas branch), who, when I called him out on being deceptive about the actual coverage of the overpriced insurance he sold me, decided the best course of action was to talk down to me, yell inappropriately, and sling a bunch of nasty verbal abuses at me. The icing on the cake was when he insisted he only deal with my father re: any insurance changes (I was 23 years old at the time, and the policy was in my name and being paid for by myself... not my father). What a misogynistic, spineless little idiot.

    Granted, this was a few years ago and I hope Mr. Drake has matured a little bit since... but I sure as hell won't ever give Farmers my business again and am happy to advise others against it.

    I promptly switched over State Farm after my uncomfortable dealings with this Farmers Agent, and am happy to say I've had excellent coverage and customer service since (and for a much better price).

    • Car Insurance
    • Las Vegas, NV
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 3 of 4 people found the following review helpful.

    Was Cheated, July, 2015

    Jack Krzosek was my agent for years, but between 2011 and 2015 my premium doubled with no changes in car. I never made a claim or had an accident. I paid on time actually early every time. When I asked why it went from $491 - $798 - they said insurance is up everywhere because of the hurricanes. ???? Need less to say, I am switching when my coverage period ends on August 2, 2015

    • Car Insurance
    • Chicago, IL
    • Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 3 of 4 people found the following review helpful.

    Terrible/aweful, March, 2015

    I have been hit by someone who was covered by farmers. Took waiting for serveral WEEKS for them to let the body shop work on my car, they've had 4 different rental car places tell me that farmers says I qualify for a rental car (which I never looked into rental cars because I didn't think I was old enough). Once they were calling me trying to wrap up the claim they said they WOULD NOT pay for a cent of the rental car (had it for over 2 weeks) and after telling them that's wasn't fair he said he'd "talk to his supervisor to work it out and give me a call back" well that was over a month ago. I've left several messages and no word back. Now I'm left with hundreds of dollars to pay because one of THEIR people hit me.

    Moral of the story: don't use them and pray to God that nobody insured through them ever hits you (:

    • Car Insurance
    • Herriman, UT
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 14 of 19 people found the following review helpful.

    Farmers' The best company around, March, 2012

    If I have an issue I can talk to my agent without having to wait needlessly. If I want to make a change I can go right into the office and the changes are made that very day I do not have to wait for someone higher up to approve it.

    • Car Insurance
    • Casper, WY
    • Customer for 3 - 5 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 8 of 11 people found the following review helpful.

    Rated one of 10 worst- I can see why, April, 2014

    I had Farmers for years, but I changed companies for a better rate when my policies expired. As a result, Farmers sent me several letters threatening to send me to collections. They felt that since I did not formally cancel the policies, I still owed them premiums. I explained that I had changed companies. I was told that I would have to substantiate this claim by providing proof of coverage through the new company. (This is America. I should be able to discontinue any service I don't want) They cited some law or regulation that required them to continue coverage of my 3 auto policies, homeowners, and umbrella insurance, even after my policy expired (In that case, what is the value of a policy expiration date?)Since I wanted to resolve the matter, i provided requested proof, but Farmers was relentless. They sent a slew of letters threatening to take me to collections. My ex-farmers agent even offered to pay the required amount me. I wouldn't pay a company that was trying to steal from me, so I asked him not to do that. This company is scandalous. After about 5 months of lengthy calls, faxes, and letters, they finally got off my back. If you don't want to deal with crooks, and you want to remain STRESS FREE, find a different company.

    • Car Insurance
    • Claremont, CA
    • 62 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 10 of 14 people found the following review helpful.

    NEVER USE FARMERS - Bait and Switch, April, 2014

    I was quoted a rate and had it all confirmed with a local Farmer auto insurance agent, and then went to pay, and they wanted to INCREASE the price by 45%. It was a Bait and Switch.... The agent kept claiming it was because I used the internet for the quote... BUT his office modified the quote when I call to ask questions and finalize the insurance.

    I will NEVER consider FARMERS!!!!!!

    BUYER BEWARE !!!! UNETHICAL COMPANY !!!!!

    • Car Insurance
    • Clarkston, MI
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 5 of 7 people found the following review helpful.

    THIEVES, March, 2015

    ******BEWARE OF THIS COMPANY*******

    If you plan to cancel you better do it with certified mail.

    They will keep you active and even send you to collections.

    They will steal money from your account.

    It is impossible to cancel.

    • Car Insurance
    • Phoenix, AZ
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 4 of 6 people found the following review helpful.

    Insurance went up 22% OUT OF THE BLUE, December, 2012

    My husband said:

    I can't understand how Farmers can accept a customer, based on the facts from the inception of the policy, bill for the monthly agreed premium amount,

    and toward the end of the 6 months policy state that "O by the way", this is whatever, and increase the premium. Deceptive trade practices? Thinking that

    they are big enough to do what they want? I am disappointed in Farmers.

    the Agent for Farmer's said:

    I am so sorry. I had no intention of writing this and then having your rates go up. When i asked who your old insurance was, you said The Hartford and that's what i used. Then when we get the old insurance cards/ it says The Hartford, but also has Southern County Mutual; which is a surplus lines, and yes, i agree with you, that Farmers should honor the transfer; but they don't. I had my week of school, and I'm in the office all this week if you would like to talk over the phone. You can also talk to the agent/owner- if you want. I am sorry again, and i want you too know that i did not mean to come across as doing deceptive trade practices. Talk to you soon

    OF COURSE WE ARE HIGHLY DISSATISIFIED WITH THESE UNETHICAL PRACTICES BY FARMERS. DON'T CARE WHAT OTHER AGENCIES ARE DOING IT,IT'S WRONG....

    • Car Insurance
    • Crowley, TX
    • Customer for 6 Months - 1 Year
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 4 of 6 people found the following review helpful.

    Charles Timbol SR., April, 2012

    Referred by friend and it was the best option i had as far as covenience and mostly the cheapest for liability and full coverage i could find for my 89 chevy k blazer.

    • Car Insurance
    • Henderson, NV
    • Male
    • Customer for 6 Months - 1 Year
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 2 of 3 people found the following review helpful.

    Outstation so far!, February, 2016

    I was with another insurance that kept raising my bill it seemed every several months. I hadn't been in any accidents or major violations. So I decided to leave that insurance company and go with Farmers. I am completely pleased with the rate I pay now. It's manageable and I appreciate that.

    • Car Insurance
    • Coatesville, PA
    • 37 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 1 - 2 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 4 of 7 people found the following review helpful.

    Mrs., August, 2012

    I was told that insurance companies really do not like it when a claim is turned in and that our rates would likely go up.

    • Car Insurance
    • Broken Arrow, OK
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 5 of 9 people found the following review helpful.

    Service, March, 2012

    I have had 2 claims and have been completely satisfied with both. I have been with this company for 20 years and won't believe in staying loyal to wonderful service

    • Car Insurance
    • Sierra Vista, AZ
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 3 people found the following review helpful.

    My experience, January, 2016

    My experience with farmers insurance has been great. My insurance agent Natalie has been so easy and great to deal with when there is a change or issue. Everything is always made so easy for me and customer service has been great!

    • Car Insurance
    • Bryan, TX
    • 25 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 6 Months - 1 Year
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    Never again, August, 2018

    We had Farmers for over 6 years, when we fist purchased Framers we were very pleased, but that soon changed after the 2sd year. Both our house & auto went up without ant notice at all, not by much so it really was no big deal. then year 3 -4 nothing changed till year 5 & 6 year 5 it went up again with no notice again when we called we were told "Oh that's a clinch and it will come back down it didn't. Then the last year both policies went up[ by 33% again with no notice, when we called Farmers said" we did mail them to you" are reply was if we had received them we would have canceled & not have waited 2 months. After many repeat calls we were finally refunded our over charged amount as well art of as the remaining unused balance, even that was a fight. I will just say this Farmers told us one thing and repeatedly did another. We would never recommend them to ANY one. We feel they are very dishonest.

    • Car Insurance
    • Indian Lake, NY
    • 60 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    Dual fusion neck, January, 2018

    Took almost 4 years to offer 17000$. I'd not include attorneys ffee/ dual fusion in neck of physical therapy.I was rear ended at a red light.I had full coverage.what a nightmare

    • Car Insurance
    • Carmichael, CA
    • 57 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 2 - 3 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    Never again!, December, 2017

    I had an accident on Dec 15th around 1:30 pm....I missed my last pymt on Nov. 22nd. So by law I figured I have up to 30 days to make a pymt to prevent from not being covered. I made a claim at the call center and was told to call adjuster Sabrina Diery to discuss accident. She basically stated that there was nothing she could do for me since I missed a pymt for the first time on Nov 22nd. The franchise owner, Chance, from Frankford St, here in Carrollton called me at 5 pm wanting to know when I would make my insurance pymt? No thank you...I'll go back to State Farm. Ridiculous insurance company. Anyone with money can be a franchisee!

    • Car Insurance
    • Dallas, TX
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    Very well explained, September, 2016

    I now know the meanings of what I'm paying for thanks to my agent. I never knew what limits meant. I only new I have full coverage, but I was underinsured if something happened.

    • Car Insurance
    • Union Grove, WI
    • 57 Year Old
    • Customer for 6 Months - 1 Year
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    Farmers doesn't care about children's safety!, June, 2016

    A farmers customer plowed into 2 cars on June 1. My mother was in the car in the front.

    Both Erie insurance and Geico insurance advised us to get new car seats immediately, we assumed Farmers would do the same (being the insurance company of the driver that caused the accident).

    On June 2 we bought new car seats. Found out 2 weeks later that FARMERS will NOT cover the cost of the car seats. How does two other insurance companies agree that in any accident, car seats should be replaced, but Farmers doesn't agree.

    This is why I say, Farmers doesn't care about children's safety.

    • Car Insurance
    • Pittsburgh, PA
    • 34 Year Old Female
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    WORST INSURANCE COMPANY, May, 2016

    One of the worst insurance companies I have dealt with. Stay away from Farmers insurance. It takes so long to go through every claim step and they don't care what's convenient for you. Amy the claim rep tried everything she could to make everything inconvenient for me.

    • Car Insurance
    • Las Vegas, NV
    • 33 Year Old Male
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    stay away, May, 2016

    Claims supervisors will lie their asses off to cover themselves. They will never take accountability. The agents fall in lie and will also blame everyone else. Expensive and terrible.

    • Car Insurance
    • Monterey, CA
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    Complete incompetence, May, 2016

    Elizabeth Hobdy Jones(Gallatin, TN Farmers Insurance Agent) is just about the worst insurance agent you can imagine. She's all smiles and tells you what you want to hear, then when it comes time to follow through, she'll call you and say something like "unfortunately, we couldn't make this happen, but it's totally not my

    fault." She'll then act personally offended if you call her out on the mistakes and false

    promises she sent your way. I wouldn't recommend her to my worst enemy. My car insurance has been an absolute nightmare ever since I switched over to Farmers just to save a little money..

    • Car Insurance
    • Gallatin, TN
    • Male
    • Customer for 1 - 2 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    PROFESSIONALISM ABSENT, April, 2016

    Increasing costs.

    Agent answering only when you need to add a coverage!

    I found another company close to home, I saved money for better benefits.

    • Car Insurance
    • Mountlake Terrace, WA
    • 68 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 3 - 5 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 2 people found the following review helpful.

    Extremely Disattified and Screwed over, March, 2016

    So when I returned from BCT and AIT, I bought a car a day later. Of course I needed insurance. So i became a part of my parents policy for the remaining four months of it. Less than a week in town and I manage to get a job where I would live and work up in Winter Park. The only time I came home was once a month for my drill weekends. Soon after my Dad tells me that Farmers insurance has added me to all of the cars and our next payment in April is going to be through the roof because I had a couple accidents back in 2014. So I start shopping for my own insurance. I find USAA and am paying ridiculously less and they are aware of all of my accidents. They were super helpful and they told me not to let my old insurance, for a lack of better words, screw me over. I was told that since I didn't stay with Farmers for the four months and was only on their insurance for two months, I should get half of what I paid back and that should be the last I will ever have to deal with farmers. Well my Dad tells me that farmers believe that if anything I still owe them more money and that I'm lucky I only had to pay 365.00 I believe it was. So of course I'm upset. I call farmers insurance and they try and accuse me of driving all of the household cars so I can't and shouldn't get any of the money back and they didn't even want to let my dad take me off the insurance because I use the house as my billing address. I DO NOT even live there. And I don't know how to get that through those morons' heads. The workers for this firm are so ignorant that I will never use them for anything and if I can find a way. I will take my parents off as soon as possible. My parents have been using farmers insurance for about 24 years and they could care less about how loyal my parents have been. Honestly nothing will make me happier to get my parents out of their care and under an insurance policy that will actually care about my family and the value of our money.

    • Car Insurance
    • Denver, CO
    • 18 Year Old Female
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    Outstation so far!, February, 2016

    I was with another insurance that kept raising my bill it seemed every several months. I hadn't been in any accidents or major violations. So I decided to leave that insurance company and go with Farmers. I am completely pleased with the rate I pay now. It's manageable and I appreciate that.

    • Car Insurance
    • Coatesville, PA
    • 37 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 1 - 2 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    Disorganized , November, 2015

    I don't know how many times I have gotten a call that they messed up my payment and I still owed for past dew payment. Terrible service, and when I requested that I get a receipt sent to my email and what was paid every month, my agent gave me attitude. Terrible!

    • Car Insurance
    • Battle Ground, WA
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    Insurance went up by 50%, October, 2015

    Within a year of having farmers my insurance rate went up by 50% i was overpaying everymonth and had no vaiolations or claims filed with them.. I cant realize how much it would go up if i had a claim... Costumer service couldnt help me they didnt want to work with me so i had to change the insurance.

    • Car Insurance
    • Chicago, IL
    • Customer for 1 - 2 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    Policy was sold from AIG to 21st to farmers, July, 2015

    In over 12 yrs of coverage and 0 claims, I had a hit and run and when it came time to fixing my car. I got hastled, a run around and phone reps who played games with me and would end the conversation on the recorded line and call me back on an unrecorded line. Extremely unprofessional. Submitting a written claim to the VP didn't help. He forwarded my letter to a customer service rep who ignored all my complaints and claimed that I was only with the company for 9 instead of 12 yrs. Seriously? sad to see such unprofessional and unacceptable response. I will file a complaint with the supervising board.

    • Car Insurance
    • Sunnyvale, CA
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    would give no stars if possible, April, 2015

    Switched from state farm to farmers because agent qouted me the "same policy" that i had for $50 less a month. Which was broad form collision, and a rental reimbursement. Had problems getting policy printer was told trust me ill get it to you. 2 months of not returning calls i get hit at a red light. Guess what, no broad collision so now im out the deductible. Oh and i have to pay for car rental too. 3 weeks of no return calls later and im back with state farm. The policy i wanted was $200 more than what i was quoted...nice try farmers go back to the insurance school from the commercial!

    • Car Insurance
    • Saint Clair Shores, MI
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    Home & 2-autos, April, 2015

    Investigating many ins. companies as my Farmers ins. premium costs have risen in the past year.

    • Car Insurance
    • Phoenix, AZ
    • 76 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    farmers stinks, March, 2015

    my car was hit by a farmers car insurance person the car was totaled they low balled the price I was sent a list of comperable cars in pennsylvania the problem is I live in northern new jersey now money has to come out of my pocket to buy another vehicle

    • Car Insurance
    • Succasunna, NJ
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    complaint, January, 2014

    I bought auto ins from Greg Delgado, in westminster, colorado. He was or seemed to be very nice, but he charged me an out ragous amout for ins. so I dropped Farmers and got a better deal else where. He is still trying to send me a bill.

    • Car Insurance
    • Brighton, CO
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    Worst Service Ever, July, 2013

    21st century insurance merged with these idiots and \i had to go along with it. No accidents, no tickets for so many years and had to file a claim on \july 12th, and three weeks later, I still have not been able to speak to the adjustor \Johua Oaks, after leaving countless voicemails and sending emails!They have the right to cancel your policy if your payment is late, but as a customer, I have to make every effort and not get any answers! Frustrating, unprofessional, and frustrating! i am switching as soon as this claim is resolved!

    • Car Insurance
    • Carlsbad, CA
    • 52 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 6 Months - 1 Year
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 2 people found the following review helpful.

    Great Service, August, 2012

    I really like my insurance Rep Charley, and the price is so much lower than my old monthly insurance fee.

    • Car Insurance
    • Minneapolis, MN
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 2 people found the following review helpful.

    Satisfied, March, 2012

    I'm very satisfied with my Insurance company as well as my son who is on the policy with me. We never had any problems nor filed any claims so our insurance is in good standing. I don't feel at this time I want or need to make a change. I have other important issues to attend to finacially so leaving something I'm satisfied with as it is, is one less thing I need to stress over.

    • Car Insurance
    • Schaumburg, IL
    • 54 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 3 - 5 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 2 people found the following review helpful.

    CAR AND RENTERS INSURANCE, March, 2012

    I DID HAVE PROGRESSIVE CLASSIC INSURANCE AND IT SEEM THAT EVERY TIME I TURNED AROUND, THE RATES WENT UP HIGHER.

    • Car Insurance
    • Sutherlin, OR
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 4 people found the following review helpful.

    Farmers, cant go wrong, January, 2012

    Farmers is in same town, and close to home. They answer any questions that i may have and are very helpful.

    • Car Insurance
    • Alma, AR
    • 56 Year Old Female
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    Farmers operates in Bad Faith, June, 2019

    I was in a car accident involving no other vehicles. I immediately reported said accident to my insurance company, Farmers Insurance. We were told that someone would be getting in touch with us shortly.

    Over 10 days later and before ever hearing from our agent, an offer from Farmers Insurance came to us that was grossly undervalue and had inaccuracies such odometer and title information. I tried for another week to reach our claims agent who ignored my phone calls and voice messages until I logged a complaint with his supervisor.

    The next morning on our claims agent called and stated that he had never received any phone calls or voice mails. I informed him of the inaccuracies in their information on our title and odometer and submitted proof of a clean title and the actual odometer reading again.

    We were told a few days later that a new agent had contacted the DMV and discovered an error in our title and that we would be receiving a new branded title shortly. Nearly 2 weeks later and no title, so I called the DMV to check on it. I was told by the DMV representative that they had no record of the car ever being a branded title nor had it been altered to one now.

    In the mean time our agent had told us that our car was worth less then what they were offering us. Every equivalent vehicle they found devalued our car, while a little research of my own part found that cars of the same make and model made within a year of my own vehicle were worth $2,000-$3,000 more then what they were offering us.

    All I can assume through this sort of costumer service is that Farmers Insurance has repeatedly tried to ignore and bully me in order to cheat me out of a fair offer, and they have blatantly lied in the process. I am appalled that such a company in such a position would operate in such bad faith. Such behavior is reprehensible. To bully and lie is completely unacceptable of any business—especially one that is meant to insure its patron

    • Car Insurance
    • Moroni, UT
    • 32 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    Poor business and professionalism of agent, January, 2017

    The insurance agent was very unprofessional and not respond on time. Couldn't provide required information and he is a very arrogant person.

    He always transfer phone communication to his assistance who are not kind as well.

    • Car Insurance
    • Roanoke, VA
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    Worst Insurance Company Ever, February, 2016

    I have had several insurance companies in my life, but none as bad as Farmers. I had the insurance for about a month before I decided to switch because I didn't trust them anymore. In the one month I was insured with them here is a list of problems: Couldn't log into my account online for first 2 weeks-had to submit my own cancellation policy to my old insurance company-Didn't receive all my id cards right away, had to call to have them emailed-Had cars inspected for collision insurance by local garage, and had farmers agent calling me saying I didn't do it twice-Had farmers raise my car insurance saying I didn't have anti theft devices, when both vehicles have factory installed alarms- Had farmers raise my homeowners insurance by over $200 . All this in 1 month. Case closed!!

    • Car Insurance
    • Middle Grove, NY
    • 43 Year Old Female
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    Very Poor Customer Service I quite with in 3 month, October, 2015

    I was Clint of farmer insurance they do no have policy constancy every month premium is goes up down after that called customer service they something..this is horrible customer service. after 3 month i quite & i moved apartment i have some due of farmer but i don't know after a few month i was received call by collecting department even ones they did not called me about there due payment they directly send on collecting department ..ya i understand probably they send me my old address i did not get mail at least they can called me my cell phone it was not changed.

    • Car Insurance
    • El Cerrito, CA
    • 36 Year Old
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    2 years later atill receive bills, September, 2019

    Awful people. Endded the policy after they refused to take recurring payment. Still revice threating letters from them on my homeowners. Im suprised there is no class action against them

    • Car Insurance
    • Phoenix, AZ
    • 40 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 1 - 2 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    Raised prices, May, 2018

    When renewal came up I tries to log in their website for new ID cards. My log in quit working, when I tries to rwcover it it tols me my policy number wasnt good. So I called and got help, seems I had to reregister bwcause their website has "problems". Find out the policy number changes with the renewal. I get in and get my documents and find out the price went up by $20 a month, I ask the lady on the phone and she says the whole state had their premiums readjusted. So I go get a quote from "FLO" turns out flo's insurance is $30 less than what I was paying, and $50 less from what I will be paying. So I go with Flo and try to cancel my auto payment and policy the day before renewal takes place. Nope you cant cancel from farmers website, you have to print out a form and fax it. Who has a fax machine at home? Customer aervice has gone home for the day, I guess real people dont need customer service at 7pm. My bank account gets over drafted for farmers insurance after I payed flo the night before. Farmers people tell me I have to send them a picture of my ID card from flo by email or fax, oddly this email option wasnt on their website at all. Oh and they're gonna mail a refund by snail mail because they can only take money instantly, not gice it back. So screw me, screw the $35 overdraft charge and screw my other bills that need to be paid.

    • Car Insurance
    • Villa Ridge, MO
    • 38 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 6 Months - 1 Year
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    Good Company, GREAT agents! , May, 2017

    The agents with Farmers make all the difference. You can save online, but will you be covered when you need it? I sleep easy with Farmers

    • Car Insurance
    • Anna, OH
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    raising rates 485 this year, February, 2017

    no tickets 10 + years

    no accidents 10 + years

    reason given to me for adjustment , i just turned 65

    when asked how the price raise comes about , it just comes out of their matrex / computer

    • Car Insurance
    • Reedsport, OR
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    price optimization - non existant agent, February, 2017

    initially farmers was cheaper insurance - but every month the premium rose until the point where other companies were 50-100 dollars cheaper for the same coverage ... what opened my eyes was i got a new quote from the very same farmers web site for 80 dollars less than the premium they were charging me ---- now part 2 - in all the time i was with farmers i was never able to get a hold of my agent - the 800 number sufficed for most stuff so it never became an issue - until this ... for me to have my premium adjusted to a more competitive rate OR to just plain cancel you HAVE to talk to your agent ... the 800 number is quite clear - never was able to get a hold of him - no answer no call back ... so i cancel and went with another company instead of renew my policy ... well when they wondered where their money was they called me [sure] and i informed them i cancel ... well by this time weeks have pass and farmers had the NERVE to bill me for this amount of time ..... horrible company ...... look up price optimization and you will see farmers is one of the leading companies to do this ... buyer beware

    • Car Insurance
    • Pittsburgh, PA
    • Male
    • Customer for 3 - 5 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    Terrible agents and service, January, 2017

    Paid for tow package, they showed up 4 hours after calling. which was 3 hrs late. I had gotten a jump by a local. When I complained my agent wouldn't get back to me and I had to call service and got shuffled around and after wasting hours telling 5 ppl same story nothing got done. Juts Awful. Never again, don't waste your money on this disorganized company bc they don't care about you they just want your money

    • Car Insurance
    • San Diego, CA
    • Customer for 2 - 3 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    I hate you stingy bastards., January, 2017

    You just lost another customer. Your adjusters deliberately bullshit their estimates so that they don't have to actually help customers who have been paying on time for years. I can't believe how greedy and low you people are.

    • Car Insurance
    • Gilroy, CA
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    bad business, November, 2016

    worst claim service than other car insurance bad business if you are lucky make sure dont involved any one has farmers

    • Car Insurance
    • Portland, OR
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    Dont Get Farmers!, September, 2016

    I had been a farmers customer for over 5 years because it was one of the cheaper options when chose them. Every year the price of the insurance was steadily increasing. I started at around 175 per month for 3 vehicles full coverage. I had my coverage slightly higher than what the law required. The last time I went to re-new they had increased my monthly payment to 275 per month and i had lowered one of my vehicles to just liability because of the increasing cost. They told me that the reason for this was due to the high amount of accidents people were having on the road, so basically my rate was increasing even though i had never filed a claim with them or been in an accident. I told them i had enough and went insurance shopping and was able to find a different company that included all of my vehicles at full coverage, the coverage was even better (higher amounts) and the rate was very pleasing at 160 per month. Big difference! Stay away from farmers. Not to mention they also did this to my parents who switched to the same company i have now. Their rate went from 270 to 110 a month and they were able to get more coverage on their vehicles as well. Take the advice or leave it im just trying to help. Not trying to promote any insurance company which is why i will only mention it starts with a G

    • Car Insurance
    • Yuma, AZ
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    Unresponsive Agent, September, 2016

    For 15 years I have had auto insurance on two cars with Brian Bertoli Farmers agent in Santa Rosa CA. My Subaru WRX 5door liftback was classified as a "performance sports car" subjected to increased premiums. My driving record (I'm 76!) is perfect over the past 5 years and beyond. My Agent emailed his opinion on why Farmers increased the premium. I requested that he provide the information from Farmers which states the rational for raising the premium. And a list of autos in the "performance sports car " category. Both my Farmers Agent and District Manager in Northern California refused to provide the information. I now have a complaint standing with the California Department of Insurance. It's is illegal for any public company in California to refuse to provide an explanation of policy information to a customer. This is the kind of treatment a customer of 15 years gets when requesting LEGAL information. I would suggest no one deal with Farmers and I will be canceling insurance with them very soon. A automobile does NOT get VIOLATIONS. A DRIVER DOES!!!!! That apparently does not concern Farmers when they choose to extort money from a long term customer.

    • Car Insurance
    • San Rafael, CA
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    insurance commisioner complaint, September, 2016

    Was an Agent with Farmers made a claim they brought me in for a hour and half to question me. Never paid claim. Commissioner told me to an attorney!!

    • Car Insurance
    • Plover, WI
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    Farmers not willing to service my accident !!, September, 2016

    Was in a car accident and after 3 weeks and over 3 Farmers Investigators attending to my accident. I was told to pay out of pocket to get my car out of wrecker yard / not fixed to save them some money. I am driving a broken car with a big dent !!

    • Car Insurance
    • Cedar Park, TX
    • 60 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 1 - 2 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    Terrible, September, 2016

    After being assured we would not be canceled as a result of a dui,

    Received a letter the stating our policy is done on the day we received it.

    Liars.!!! Never. Ever. Again OR anyone I know

    • Car Insurance
    • Stillwater, MN
    • Customer for 3 - 5 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    OUTSTANDING SERVICE!, October, 2015

    I have been with other insurance companies in my 15 years of driving and Farmers beats all of them my a long shot. I unfortunately have been targeted for 3 hits while my car was in a parking space two were hit and runs! Each time I submitted my claims online and literally within 60 seconds of hitting submit my phone would ring with a friendly, helpful agent there to assist me! Incredible! The process was painless and I have been happy with each of my experiences. I love this insurance company and will continue to use them.

    • Car Insurance
    • Garland, TX
    • Female
    • Customer for 2 - 3 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    The worst experience I have ever had., August, 2015

    Good luck finding an agent that isn't terrible. I have been with Farmers since 2003 in Colorado Springs with two different agents. After being they would always review my policy for discounts, I found I spend most of my time correcting their oversights and receiving rate increases even though I haven't made claims. Good luck waiting for a return phone call. Go with ANY other company.

    • Car Insurance
    • Colorado Springs, CO
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    Bad billing practices, July, 2015

    I was with farmers auto insurance for 10 years and was very happy with my agent but never happy with the farmers as a company. only reason I stayed was because my agent would handle any issues i had with the company. Farmers has a lack of costumer service and they are limited online access. Main problems I had were the my bills would show up late or not at and could not get any help from costumer service. I left to company when I received a cancellations notice, posted dated a week after I was cancelled. The company has my address, phone, and email. I would pay six months at time and I would tell farmers if they can not get a bill to me, I would not remember to pay it. When I left the company I owed a small amount which they sent to collection without receiving a letter, phone call, or a email. Ironic I still get Farmers news letter.

    Advice: Stay way, Bad billing practices!

    • Car Insurance
    • Parker, CO
    • 32 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    Excelllent Service, April, 2015

    Recently moved to Pace, Florida. Need to get local Florida Insurance

    • Car Insurance
    • Milton, FL
    • 43 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 3 - 5 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    Great Agent, Great Company, April, 2015

    I switched to Farmers because of the Agent and it turns out Farmers is a great company too. Claims is smooth and easy to deal with. I hit a deer and my car was fixed later that week and ive also had a couple tows from them with no hassles at all. My premium was lower than State Farm too! Customer Service is of course better any time you have an agent, but my Agent I feel has gone above and Beyond for me. I recommend Farmers to everybody.

    • Car Insurance
    • Redmond, OR
    • 38 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 1 - 2 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    Bait and switch, April, 2015

    Promised but refused to give good student discount. Keep demanding some other document besides the official transcript which was provided. Clumsy and incompetent agent. Avoid Farmers!!!

    • Car Insurance
    • Greeley, CO
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    Great service but high cost now!, March, 2015

    We have been quite happy with Farmers in the past 10 years. Now our costs seem to be way to high.

    • Car Insurance
    • Lincoln City, OR
    • 23 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    customer service means a lot to me., March, 2015

    My agent with farmers is always right there to answer questions. If he isn't available at the time he always calls back without fail.

    • Car Insurance
    • Ontario, CA
    • 83 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 2 - 3 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    Good company, March, 2015

    This insurance company has offered good service as well as response time. The agent is always helpful as needed and make good suggestions.

    • Car Insurance
    • Amelia, OH
    • 68 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    Dealing With Children, March, 2015

    I feel like I'm dealing with children. My farmers insurance agent must be called 4 times for her to realize you exist. I have been blamed for not doing my insurance agents job. Once my vehicle hit the minimum range for totality, they didn't even ask, they just deemed it a total loss. The insurance settlement rep took 8 phone calls to get a hold of and 3 hours before the weekend, would not be available(which sucks when they deduct money out of your settlement for holding fees at a repair shop for a weekend even when I call to tell the insurance company to take it but am not able to get a hold of anyone) and lastly I have been jerked around, waiting for my settlement for a week while I have no transportation, when they claim to send me an email for direct deposit info, I never get an email, and the next day am told they will just send a check meanwhile right after the phone call I get an email listing reasons to keep my policy with them, from the same people who claimed to have sent me direct deposit info, but now I have to wait the whole weekend til I get a settlement check on Monday where I have to scramble to use it to buy a new car so I can get to work. Thankyou farmers for testing my patience, and my ability to have a car dealership hold a car for me for weeks waiting for my settlement as a payment.

    • Car Insurance
    • Island Lake, IL
    • Customer for 2 - 3 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    review, June, 2014

    billing statements are way to slow-They send bills - then i pay and then a couple of days later i get a cancellation. Their service needs to step up.

    • Car Insurance
    • Spring Valley, NY
    • Customer for 1 - 2 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    easy and convenient, March, 2017

    • Car Insurance
    • Clarkston, GA
    • 29 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 1 - 2 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    Good company, December, 2016

    • Car Insurance
    • Fremont, CA
    • 57 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    expensive but good, December, 2016

    • Car Insurance
    • Bonita Springs, FL
    • 72 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    December, 2015

    • Car Insurance
    • Newnan, GA
    • 65 Year Old Female
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    August, 2015

    • Car Insurance
    • Incline Village, NV
    • 65 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    March, 2015

    • Car Insurance
    • Okmulgee, OK
    • 61 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |