Reviewing Auto Owners?
Save up to 75%. Compare Quotes Now!
  •  Privacy & Security Protected

Auto Owners Reviews

  • 2.17 / 5 based on 60 Reviews | Submit Your Review
    Satisfaction
    Claims
    Cost
    Billing
    Service
  • Auto-Owners Insurance Group is known for its strength and reliability. The company was started in 1916 by Vern V. Moulton. After several years of operation in Michigan, the company expanded to include coverage in the nearby states of Indiana and Ohio. Auto-Owners is affiliated with Owners Insurance Company, Home-Owners Insurance Company, Property-Owners Insurance Company and Southern-Owners Insurance Company.

    Financial Ratings

    A.M. Best:A++

    Company Information

    P.O. Box 30660
    Lansing, MI 48909
    (517) 323-1200
    (517) 391-1901 (Fax)
    http://auto-owners.com


    Company Reviews (60)

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful.

    when you need them they run and then cancel you, April, 2016

    We had some when damaged on our property. It when unnoticed for about 6 months. then a roofer seen we had shingles off. I dont stare at my roof to see if shingles are off. long story short they broke my one claim into 3 claims charged me 3 deductibles paid 1000 then cancelled me. Very hard to reach nobody returns calls. I even called the tristate rep for ohio and he was the same. Dont use them...when you need them they are not there to help.

    • Waynesville, OH
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 42 of 46 people found the following review helpful.

    Aragont adjuster, refusal to accept total claim, July, 2015

    Entire roof damaged by horrendous hail storm, adjuster wants to patch a 15 year old roof because in his opinion and that of their "Professional" 3rd party only 3 of the 8 slopes are totally destroyed and the ridge is only about 80 % damaged. Home office stated that they only replace what is damaged according to the adjusters opinion. I paid for a replacement roof and not a patch job that wont match. The entire roof is damaged but not to the extent and opinion of the company paid adjuster that is probably working an a cost savings commission. almost our entire subdivision got NEW ROOFS from their insurance co. Everyone I have talked to in the company, including Corporate, have a BAD attitude. My agent won't even go to bat for us. Read the other reports BEFORE you but auto-Owners Ins. Co..They even sent me an article from the policy that states THE COMPANY CAN'T BE SUED". The above stars were checked in error!!

    • Ballwin, MO
    • Customer for 3 - 5 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 9 of 10 people found the following review helpful.

    Customer service, November, 2015

    I recently called auto owners customer service line with a simple question about a payment on my policy. The representative was rude and dismissive and actually hung up on me. I was polite the entire time but because I was asking a question she didn't like she treated me with great disrespect. I have been a loyal customer for over five years and have never even filed a claim. If this is what I can expect from a simple inquiry I am terrified to think what would happen should I ever need to file a claim. I am seriously considering dropping them for another company that may actually appreciate my business.

    • Enterprise, AL
    • Male
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 40 of 45 people found the following review helpful.

    Liars, Scammers, and Thieves, February, 2015

    First claim ever on an auto policy. They low-balled the car's value, high-balled the cost of repairs. Appraiser called the car "good" and the home office arbitrarily reduced it to "fair." When asked for an explanation and to "show the math" of how they reached their values, they refused to speak in layman's terms that we could understand. They did backtrack on the fair market value when I showed them comp cars, but not by much. What seals the deal on their rating is the fact that when I called for retail prices of the parts they said my car needed, they had inflated their price by 2.5 times. Adjuster was obstructive, refused to explain things, refused to provide supervisor's name and number, had his "supervisor" call - a man, who told me they were not committing fraud but still refused to explain how they arrived at their figures. When I contacted the home office, I discovered the manager of the office was, in fact a WOMAN, and not a man.

    • Livonia, MI
    • Customer for 6 Months - 1 Year
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 24 of 27 people found the following review helpful.

    Premiums going up..up..up, May, 2013

    We have been with Auto-Owners for 5+ years. We have $400K home, 2 cars and umbrella policy. When we started the price was $1600. 5 years later the premium is $3000. We had 1 claim on the home and due to everyone in the area having claims, it was okay that it took a few months.

    • Knoxville, TN
    • 58 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 23 of 26 people found the following review helpful.

    did not give me insurance but took my downpayment , April, 2015

    I got a quote for coverage for my trucking company I paid my downpayment signed the documents they give me a policy number but when I check to see if they did the filings with the state they didnt so after 2 weeks of calling and getting the run around they finally said we cant cover your business and they have not refunded my $800.00 for my down payment.

    • Decatur, GA
    • 36 Year Old Female
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 30 of 34 people found the following review helpful.

    Be WARNED they are THIEVES and SCAMMERS, August, 2015

    After years with Auto-Owners Insurance we recieve a letter in the mail from our bank that lead us to believe we might be over paying on flood insurance, so we contacted them. They said they checked into it and we still owed they $2200 they were charging us. Ok that is fine, if that's what we owe, that's what we owe. So we paid, first mistake. Some time went by and me and my wife thought, you know maybe we should get quotes from other compaines, which was the second mistake, should have done that earlier because they all came back $600, wow what a difference. So one issurance company said, contact them again if they are over charging us then we may be able to get our money back. We did, but since insurance companies have there own people doing the mapping, they came back saying no we were not in a lower flood zone as the other companies said we were. Funny all other insurance companies have us in the lower zone. Moral of the story Auto-Owners Insurance scammed us out of about $10,000 over the past few years (we were told you can get 6 years of money back if overcharged). Thanks Auto-Owners for scamming us, too bad we are stuck with you until next year. Reader I only write this review to try to help warn you, these people are scammers. If you are not careful they will in effect rob you.

    • Trenton, MI
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 29 of 33 people found the following review helpful.

    Horrible, Just Horrible, July, 2015

    One word I can come up with is horrible. Nearly a year later and we are still dealing with Auto Owners. They have taken every opportunity to screw us over. Please, please, PLEASE stay away from Auto Owners, or hope you never have a claim.

    • Waseca, MN
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 36 of 41 people found the following review helpful.

    Auto Owners rips off little old lady, May, 2015

    My 83 year old mother had been a loyal customer with Dawson Insurance in Fargo. She purchased an Auto Owners homeowners policy from them. Her shower leaked and ruined the wall and flooring. It took a year of negotiations to have them tell us they weren't going to pay. It cost almost $20,000 for repairs out of our pocket. No reason to have insurance from a company like that. I use Liberty Mutual. When I make a claim, I have a check in less than a week.

    • Phoenix, AZ
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 21 of 24 people found the following review helpful.

    Horrible Company!, March, 2016

    I have been insured with Auto Owners for 20+ years. They have my home, business, rentals, and 7 vehicles. Every 3 months I pay thousands of dollars in premiums and have never had an issue until I turned in a claim. That's when I found out what a Ponzi Scheme really was.

    In January of 2016 my home caught on fire and suffered major damage. 5 hours later I had about 9 people at my home ready to help me out...... At least that was the impression I got!

    We were forced to sign paperwork that was pushed in our face by several contractors waiting to cash in on the big prize.

    We were then interrogated to see if we started the fire...... Then they started in on how much we owed on the home to see if we burned the home down to cover the payments.... Well I don't owe on my home so that was a short discussion ...So lets now investigate your business..... How much do you owe on that? Sorry, no money owed there either. How about residency? Are you sure you live in your home?

    So another investigation began into how often I was home and where I was when I was not home. They even interviewed old girlfriends to see if I kept a toothbrush at there house.

    The contractor they hired removed everything in the home and there is nothing left but studs.

    Now the insurance company is saying they removed too much! Now they have filed a lien on my home that was free and clear due to the non-payment of Auto Owners.

    To make matters worse, the contractor who they hired to remove the contents threw away several dumpster loads of personal items that there was nothing wrong with.

    Auto Owners has turned the claim down but neither I or my attorney really know why. When we call to ask questions, they are so rude its hard to contain yourself..... A bit different than when they are taking your money.

    If you have Auto Owners now, I would switch ASAP.

    • Deerfield, MI
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 14 of 16 people found the following review helpful.

    Was hit by someone covered by Auto Owners, December, 2015

    I was hit by someone covered by Auto Owners insurance. They took a very long time to fulfill their claim, and I had to pay for a car that was no longer drivable for several months while they worked out all the details. Then after they paid off the car, I had to fork out additional fees because they were late in their payment. Their late payment also put a ding on my credit.

    Thank you Auto Owner's Insurance for providing a frustrating and financially painful experience on something I wasn't even at fault for.

    • Denver, CO
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 14 of 16 people found the following review helpful.

    Will drop you without a claim! Do not buy, November, 2015

    I have had Auto owners for over two years. They seemed good but we never had a claim. Wife got a ticket for a rolling stop as well as another for downloading an app in the chick-fila drivethru. They said we were high risk and they are dropping us. Never ever made a claim or had an accident. I would run from this terrible company.

    • Suwanee, GA
    • Customer for 2 - 3 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 7 of 8 people found the following review helpful.

    House Fire - HORRIBLE Company, May, 2016

    HORRIBLE doesn't even describe AutoOwners. Use a different company!!!! We had a house fire. The cause was our neighbors house catching on fire and because of wind, jumped to our house and started fire. 15 months later AutoOwners won't settle the claim for the full amount. The neighbors home is rebuilt and they are in their new home. Their insurance, Citizens, contacted us to see what they were responsible for/where were our bills, but because of MI laws (which are awful and written by the insurance companies) we have to go through the settlement process with AutoOwners.

    The building inspector and a independent engineer stated in writing the house can't be repaired. AutoOwners says it can. The initial settlement offer, 1/3 of repair costs. DO NOT USE AutoOwners!!!! We will now have to pay a public adjuster and/attorney, lots of $$$ we don't have to try to get this settled. We have a policy that included full coverage and coverage that exceeds the current house value. In 14 years, NEVER made a homeowners claim, paid on time, never late.

    They gladly take your money but won't make you whole when you lose your home. Recommend you reconsider who used for insurance if you have AutoOwners.

    The story isn't new -- we have been disappointment in a car insurance, basically in two accidents in five years, both of which which we were hit, not responsible, our agent told us better to pay out of pocket then claim them. WHY?????

    They are a horrible company -- switch to a different company!!!

    • Fenton, MI
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 20 of 23 people found the following review helpful.

    THIS COMPANY IS THE WORST!, August, 2015

    submitted a claim for damage to roof from major storm. Their customer service SUCKS! No one was ever in the office to answer questions. It took 2 weeks to get an adjuster to look at damage and of course they low balled the hell out of it. Would not recommend this company to my worst enemy. I still have not received check and it has been 3 weeks. STAY AWAY!

    • Cincinnati, OH
    • Customer for 1 - 2 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 33 of 38 people found the following review helpful.

    Dissatisfied Customer, January, 2012

    I had my first claim in 32 years and I was pulling a trailer and had full coverage on my vehicle. I totalled the trailer and now after the agent told me I was covered for the trailer the insurance co says I'm not. I am looking for a new insurance company

    • Hardin, IL
    • 47 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 3 - 5 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 26 of 30 people found the following review helpful.

    Terrible Insurer!, August, 2015

    We had a hail storm in April of this year. Two roofers looked at our roof and found damage, yet two 21 year old adjusters hired by Auto Owners found none. We are the only home in our entire neighborhood to be denied a claim for a new roof. We asked for a 2nd opinion--denied! Now have to go to Dept. of Insurance for help! We been with them for years and never filed a claim before. It seems they just want our money. BTY--their rating is just A according to AM Best.

    • Alpharetta, GA
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 24 of 28 people found the following review helpful.

    Their Claims Department are almost non-existant, November, 2015

    We are going into our 7th week since a water line broke in our home in the middle of the night and the result, naturally, was a flood. The event was reported to our agent ASAP on the following morning and the Flood Specialist showed up as promised, For 4 Days we had 15 drying machines running in the house. The result of the incident was repainting of most of the interior, new carpet and replacement of the bedroom furniture. It took 6 days for the adjuster to appear and we've never heard from them since. I had to sell stock to pay the bills and get the house back in order. I continue to call but never receive an answer because it seems no one works in the Claims Office. This is the first claim we're submitted in 60 years. We're beside ourselves.

    • Hernando, FL
    • 82 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 18 of 21 people found the following review helpful.

    Still waiting......, October, 2015

    My wife was involved in an accident on a Saturday. Had to wait till the following Thursday for someone to come inspect the vehicle. Informed on that Friday they decided to total it. On week two now, no calls from claim department about how much $ they intend to send for the car. They won't return our calls or voicemails. we've never been involved in an accident before and are unsure about how this works, but two weeks seems too long for us. Worst part is, they won't even call us back. Very very displeased and will be looking elsewhere once this is completed.

    • Jenison, MI
    • 33 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 3 - 5 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 12 of 14 people found the following review helpful.

    Wish there were less than 1 Start, December, 2015

    This is the WORST insurance company out there. I filed a claim on a hail damage for windows. Their adjuster approved the replacement of windows but did not give enough money to install properly. When I inquired about it they sent an engineer out to say that the windows could be repaired. No one will repair Vinyl windows. They will do WHATEVER it takes to NOT pay your claim. Then they pay an "engineer" to write a biased report. DO NOT buy insurance from them. If you have an unpaid claim with them hire a public adjuster. If they hire an engineer to look at your property BEWARE. Remember every state regulates insurance companies and engineers. BEWARE!

    • Littleton, CO
    • Customer for 1 - 2 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 15 of 18 people found the following review helpful.

    Stay Away From Auto Owners, August, 2015

    Poor service, horrible communication, completely worthless company, agents and adjusters. I could write a book about this claim but take my word, just stay away.

    • Mankato, MN
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 24 of 30 people found the following review helpful.

    They Suck, June, 2015

    I will be cancelling my policy with auto owners and will never recommend them to anyone filed a claim and got srewed

    • Belleville, MI
    • 44 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 12 of 15 people found the following review helpful.

    HORRIBLE. Get what you pay for, September, 2015

    Tried to file a claim and it took two weeks to get any response and three months to get a check. Pay the least amount possible of the claim.

    NEVER will suggest or refer Auto Owners

    • Wadena, MN
    • Customer for 1 - 2 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 4 of 5 people found the following review helpful.

    Unprofessional customer service from adjuster, January, 2016

    Adjuster was more interested in flirting with workers instead of actually determining damage; all her measurements were wrong; very poor communication and interpersonal skills; worst customer service I've ever had in nearly 30 years of having insurance coverage from several companies.

    • Johnson City, TN
    • 48 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 6 Months - 1 Year
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 10 of 13 people found the following review helpful.

    Very Great Service , March, 2013

    Help to impliment coverages that were right for me. Great rates and would cover my house with a wood buring stove.

    • Bluffdale, UT
    • Customer for 1 - 2 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 9 of 12 people found the following review helpful.

    August, 2015

    The cost keeps going up every year and I have an excellent drivers record and make my payments on time for car and home.

    • Pauline, SC
    • 60 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 2 - 3 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 6 of 8 people found the following review helpful.

    Thief's , December, 2015

    So I needed to get auto insurance for my truck and was a bit short in the wallet so I figured I would try out The Auto owners Insurance. I am in another state helping out my aging father, yet still garage my truck in my home state. I cannot afford two rental agreements so I have the truck at a friend's house. I set up my auto insurance without too many issues, however the next day (and they had already charged my account) found out that they would not cover the truck due to the fact I was in another state than my truck. So they told me to cancel the policy and they would refund my funds back to my account.

    I did and when it came time for the refund to have hit my account there was no funds. They kept all the funds.

    Be cautious you'll not save money with them as they are straight scam company . They have a horrible customer service and will not process any claim on time.

    • Norfolk, VA
    • 52 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 3 - 5 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 6 of 8 people found the following review helpful.

    AO OK, October, 2015

    Our water heater sprung a leak, causing damage to our home, AO was very good in taking care of the damage.

    • Lansing, MI
    • 64 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 6 of 8 people found the following review helpful.

    you asked me, January, 2012

    I am completely satisfied with the premium charged and the claim settlement experienced when i made an auto comprehensive claim

    • Atlanta, GA
    • 80 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 3 - 5 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 3 of 4 people found the following review helpful.

    horible claims adjuster, failed us, July, 2016

    We were rear-ended by a auto-owners customer. the claims adjuster was arrogant, rude, and totally inept. They refused to come even close to the replacement cost of our totaled vehicle and then took the rental car away to force us to sign the paperwork. STAY FAR AWAY from these people

    • Fairfield, FL
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 10 of 14 people found the following review helpful.

    Paid our claim within 3 days!!! Great company!! , April, 2015

    We were hit in a parking lot by an Allstate policyholder about 3 weeks ago and are still waiting on a response from Allstate. We went ahead and had our Auto Owners rep contact them to see about getting the ball rolling even though it was not a claim against our Auto Owners policy. Because we were running up a large rental car bill waiting on Allstate to respond, our Auto Owners agent went ahead and put the claim on our insurance to expedite the payment for our vehicle. The Auto Owners claims specialist went to the dealership and provided us with a quote that was actually higher than the one we received from Allstate by a few hundred dollars. We received a check in about 3 days from Auto Owners so we were able to return the rental car and proceed with getting our life back in order. Thank you, Auto Owners!!! Great company, great customer service!

    • Maysville, NC
    • Customer for 3 - 5 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 5 of 7 people found the following review helpful.

    Excellent Customer Service, February, 2016

    No problems whatsoever with claims service. Since we had multiple vehicles and several children, we have had our fair share of claims. All have been paid promptly based on the estimate I got from my dealership.

    I have occasionally gotten better rate offers but always stick with Auto Owners.

    • Okemos, MI
    • 52 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 4 of 6 people found the following review helpful.

    October, 2015

    Have not experienced any problems with Auto Owners while being insurred. Deal with an Insurance Agent when I was shopping for Insurrance

    • Aiken, SC
    • 78 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 4 of 6 people found the following review helpful.

    mobile home insurance, April, 2012

    purchased mobile home on lot in fla. spending 3 months there during jan thru mar. for fire, theft and liability coverage. so far so good

    • Arcadia, FL
    • 67 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 4 of 6 people found the following review helpful.

    Mr. Brooks, March, 2012

    The company is actually Auto Partners from Longview Tx. The Lady I deal with helps me with anything I need at all times

    • Longview, TX
    • Customer for 3 - 5 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 2 of 3 people found the following review helpful.

    THE WORST INSURANCE COMPANY IN AMERICA, April, 2016

    I own a small commercial truck business in Denver. I recently made a claim with Auto Owners for a blow out that I had on a Ford F550 Utility Truck. Commercial Truck Tires being what they are (12 ply 100psi) the entire left front fender, inner fender, mirror and several other items were damaged or destroyed. Auto Owners paid apr. $1,000 of the $3,500 bill, even though the deductible was only $1,000. Much worse, shortly thereafter, they cancelled me. My business had not made a claim to any insurance company ever! This is over 20 years of claim free operations. Auto Owners is rated very poorly by consumers and deservedly so!

    • Englewood, CO
    • Male
    • Customer for 3 - 5 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 5 of 8 people found the following review helpful.

    Best in the Business, February, 2016

    I was rear ended by a distracted driver with my pregnant wife in the car. From the 1st phone call to the genuinely concerned follow questions form my Agent, the claims process was fast and fair. My agent is a trusted advisor not an order taker. They work with me to design policies that fit my needs and budget. I will be an Auto-Owner's customer for life!

    • Pinckney, MI
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 3 of 5 people found the following review helpful.

    The worst, January, 2016

    I had major damage to my condo from a flood (plumbing leak). They took five days to come out and even then barely looked at anything. No photos, few notes. The guy was not friendly and had no answers. It has now been 12 days and we havent settled at all. They promised to send $1000 for a few days hotel or accomodations with friends or family and then sent $500. They are arguing that I should keep wet upholstered furniture like mattresses. They want to only pay $30 per day for temporary housing for two people and a dog in the Chicago suburbs. If tgey reapond at all hey are unkind. It's just terrible and I am beyond upset. What's more - the neighbor was at fault and his insurance will be repaying Auto owners the full bill, so they are out absolutely nothing if they are just fair and reasonable. My agent pretends not to know what to do about anything and wont give me any support or advice.

    • Crystal Lake, IL
    • Customer for 1 - 2 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 4 of 7 people found the following review helpful.

    theives take advantage, June, 2016

    these stars are there because I had to pick at least one. my sister was involved in a terrible car accident and almost died, she is still not out of the hospital and the company agent called and told us that they would only pay 60thousand and anything else we wanted paid would have to be claimed on my sisters car insurance policy! WHAT? how is her insurance responsible for paying on another persons accident that she was not at fault for?? she was not in her can and was not driving she was A PASSENGER!! how can this be a reputable company? NEVER NEVER USE THIS COMPANY!!! I will be hiring an attorney!!

    • Greensboro, NC
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 4 of 7 people found the following review helpful.

    Mr. Berton Karol, January, 2012

    This is a totally satisfactory company to deal with. They also have a local independant agent for personal contact. I will stay with this company as long as their policy costs are competative.

    • Lake Worth, FL
    • 87 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 2 - 3 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 2 of 4 people found the following review helpful.

    Horrible , January, 2016

    We filed two claims in 3 years, one was for a leak in our living room and we had to fight with them to get them to cover the damage and one was for my our car that got broken into and all my husbands tools where stolen, we were told to file it under our homeowners as it happened on our property. Everything was fine until they dropped our homeowners several months later stating we had flied too many claims in a 3 year period. HORRIBLE Company and the best part was they wanted to keep our car insurance with them. DON'T GO WITH THIS COMPANY. There are better ones out there. Do your homework.

    • Salt Lake City, UT
    • Customer for 3 - 5 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    Terrible unethical adjusters, August, 2016

    after a rollover accident the auto owners denies claims asking for more and more proof and then they will deny your claim. they are unethical and will never receive another dime of my money or anybody i know.

    get rid of them before its too late and you get jerked around...

    • Frankenmuth, MI
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    scammers, July, 2016

    I've had uninsured motor coverage with Auto owners for 20 yrs. Was hit by a 16 yr old kid text messaging while I was sitting at a light in 2011 Totaled my car and I've had to have three major surgeries because of the accident. Auto owners from the start tried scamming me. They sent me a check for 11,000 for my car. The kids insurance sent me a check for 19,000 for the same car. Auto Owners could not explain to me how they came up with such a low value compared to the kids insurance. I returned Auto owners check and cashed the other. The kid only carried 25,000 coverage. I carrier 1 million uninsured motorist coverage. Its now 2016 I have yet to be able to get Auto owners to make a fair settlement offer to reimburse me for all the medical expense and lost wages since 2011. A scumbag of a company!!!

    • Largo, FL
    • 40 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    Horrible company, June, 2016

    Went to submit a claim, told them what it was about and the lady automatically says I'm not covered... I'm looking in my policy book and according to that I should be covered, also my agent told me I would be covered for this particular issue. Where is my agent when I call... conveniently in meetings all the time. Screw this compaby! They're going to be pissed when they don't see the check roll in for payment this month. Why should I pay for something that does nothing for me?

    • Oneida, WI
    • Male
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    Great experience, June, 2016

    Auto-Owners has been great! Our premiums have been competitive and consistent for many years. They have treated us fairly and promptly during claim situations. All of our questions about billing have been explained. They also encouraged us to take advantage of other discounts that we didn't know about. I would recommend them to anyone.

    • Wooster, OH
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 2 people found the following review helpful.

    How are they still in business????, June, 2016

    Personally I would never purchase a low level insurance do yourself a favor and buy a Hartford policy. I was involved in a terrible accident last month, a big Dodge pickup truck rear ended my Honda, I called to have my car repaired and received the run around to this day have not received a dime from this insurance I had to use my own. This Carlie Regal is a joke, she lies everything she opens her mouth, I haven't seen an appraiser yet.

    Please do not spend a cent for this incompetent insurance.

    • Mabelvale, AR
    • 49 Year Old Female
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 2 people found the following review helpful.

    WARNING DO NOT USE THEM-WORST COMPANY IN UNSURANCE, June, 2016

    was with them for 8 years as soon as I reported A claim they canceled me, they do not pay off claims, they will not help you with anything, they will not answer your calls, the whole point of having insurance is to be protected, that's why we pay for it, not as soon we call in a claim they toss you away.

    DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THEM PAY MORE MONEY AND GO SOMEPLACE ELSE.

    • Brookpark, OH
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    Terrible - do not do business with this company!, May, 2016

    This company over-charged us, forced us into upgrades that our business did not need and said they would cancel us if we did not do the upgrades, refused to issue the credit we are due, and has rude and smart-ass underwrites would only have their interests in mind. Take our advise - find another company!!

    • Presque Isle, WI
    • Customer for 6 Months - 1 Year
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    Do not do business with Auto-Owners, May, 2016

    About a month ago a couple, insured by Auto-Owners Insurance, hit and totaled my car. After a week I obtained the police report and got in contact with Auto-Owners, Saginaw branch. After leaving 2 messages and waiting for my call to be returned, to no avail, I called the front desk and asked that I speak with the appropriate person, to which I was told he was on the phone and would call me immediately after. I never heard back from this agent and was forced to contact his supervisor who was immediately responsive and I explained that I needed a rental car and that I had been out of a car for far too long. He responded that he would make sure that I got set up in a rental as soon as they were back in the office, Monday (it was friday)

    Monday I received an email, still no phone call, from said Agent in which he told me that an adjuster in OKC, closer to me would handle my claim. The adjuster was forgetful (even forgot my insurance company and my phone number) and didn't return phone calls. After 2 weeks of no resolution I contacted the previous agent, STILL NO ANSWER, and to this day have never spoken with him.

    It wasn't until I threatened to get a lawyer involved that Auto-Owners decided they would cooperate.

    Do not do business with this company and if you are in an accident with someone insured by Auto-Owners make sure you are vigilant. Get everything in writing and don't be afraid to call daily to get updates on your request, because they won't be making an effort to call you back.

    • Tulsa, OK
    • 24 Year Old Female
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    Worst insurance ever, May, 2016

    Filed a claim for hail damage on house and barns. Adjuster came out assessed the damage and said she would get the estimate wrote up and get the check sent out. Now over 4 weeks later I have yet to hear anything about it and they're now coming up with every excuse to get out of this claim. I will never recommend this junk insurance and will always continue to give them a bad name.

    • Warren, IN
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    Great Company with great service, April, 2016

    You always hear the bad stories, not always the good ones. I've been with Auto Owners for 6 years and filed my second claim. My agent Chris at William Knight Insurance Agency in Knoxville helped me out throughout the whold process. Within a day I had adjusters on my property assesing damage. My claim was finalized within about a week and my roof is now being fixed. If you need a good agent in Tennessee give Chris a call at 865-934-1854. I love auto owners.

    • Knoxville, TN
    • 63 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    Teenage drivers, March, 2016

    prepare to be bent over a barrel if you have more than 1 teenage driver. your policy will double in price. so much for good customer service. this is outrageous and I will do everything I can to see that no one, I encounter ever uses your insurance company!

    • Ogden, UT
    • Female
    • Customer for 6 Months - 1 Year
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    Auto Owners is Horrible!, February, 2016

    Horrible is being kind... they took every opportunity to screw me over. What is left is a home that looks like crap. Would not match anything so it looks like a two-tone home. Deck looks horrible too because they only paid for half of it. Pretty hard to match cedar right down the middle... Any I am not the only one. I have neighbors who discontinued Auto Owners for the exact same issues. Just do yourself a favor and find any insurer except Auto Owners.

    • Waseca, MN
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 2 people found the following review helpful.

    Disappointed on what matters, January, 2016

    Cost is good; payment process is easy. But, when you need to get in touch with someone for processing a claim, that's when it matters. Very disappointed with AOI. Glad we found out when we did so we can switch companies.

    • Flowery Branch, GA
    • Customer for 2 - 3 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    Horrible Claims Service, August, 2016

    Auto break-in claim took over two years to pay and still didn't pay for covered contents.

    Work Comp claims had to be settled in court.

    P&C claim for hail storm was a nightmare

    • Topeka, KS
    • Customer for 3 - 5 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    Not Worth it!, August, 2016

    Made a RV claim on my camper they say they do not cover roof leaks but 4 years ago when they sold me the policy they told me they did!

    • Richmond, MI
    • Customer for 3 - 5 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    Stay Away, July, 2016

    I was unlucky enough to be hit by someone who had "Auto Owners Insurance".

    What a joke of a company, they gave me the run-around for a month, making me take care of getting the police report and making it difficult for me to get a rental car, when they should have set all of this up for me.

    I had to take 3 days off work because I didn't have any transportation thanks to Auto Owners.

    Also I'm pretty sure this sorry company had to actually save up their money or even take out a loan just to pay off the full coverage on my car. This insurance company should actually be shut down, I will never get back the time that I lost due to their incompetence.

    Go to State Farm, Nationwide, Farm Bureau anything but Auto Owners Insurance.

    • Willow Spring, NC
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    Ckng reviews before commiting to cars and home , July, 2016

    Thanks for warnings. Reviews warn that you will never be rated well if behaviors and practices aren't true and professional.

    • Macon, GA
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    77 year old owner of property, June, 2016

    bathroom wall had water drip not aware of.

    after discovery, had issue corrected. due to some

    health issues and my forgetting to contact ins.co.

    with information of damage to sub structure, floor,

    wall etc. with photos, pd. invoices for some time

    claim was denied .

    • Tucker, GA
    • 77 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    77 year old owner of property, June, 2016

    bathroom wall had water drip not aware of.

    after discovery, had issue corrected. due to some

    health issues and my forgetting to contact ins.co.

    with information of damage to sub structure, floor,

    wall etc. with photos, pd. invoices for some time

    claim was denied .

    • Tucker, GA
    • 77 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 7 of 8 people found the following review helpful.

    October, 2015

    • Sanford, FL
    • 44 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

More About Auto Owners

Currently, Auto-Owners Insurance Group has offices in and can insure residents of the following 27 states: Michigan, Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Minnesota, Iowa, North Dakota, South Dakota, Florida, Missouri, Alabama, Tennessee, North Carolina, South Carolina, Wisconsin, Georgia, Nebraska, Arizona, Virginia, Kentucky, Kansas, Utah, Colorado, Arkansas, Idaho, Kansas, and Pennsylvania. Despite its name, Auto-Owners Insurance group offers more than just automobile insurance. Auto-Owners' products are as follows:

Life Insurance
  • Universal Life Insurance
  • Whole Life Insurance
  • Simplified Issue Whole Life Insurance
  • Simplified Issue Children's Advantage Plan Plus Life Insurance
  • Annuities
  • Long-Term Care Insurance
  • Disability Insurance
Home Insurance
  • Homes
  • Condominiums
  • Renters (personal property)
  • Mobile homes
  • Farms
  • Rental homes
Automobile Insurance
  • All-Terrain Vehicles
  • Antique Vehicles & Classic Vehicles
  • Automobiles
  • Converted or Modified Vehicles
  • Mopeds
  • Motor Homes
  • Motorcycles
  • Recreational Vehicles
  • Utility Trailers
  • Vacation Trailers/Campers
Business Insurance
  • Commercial buildings
  • Business liability
  • Commercial automobiles
  • Garages & dealerships
  • Excess business liability
  • Employees
  • Disability income
  • Farms
  • Bonds

Auto-Owners Insurance Group offers a variety of discounts on their home insurance, auto insurance and business insurance products, including the ones listed below:

Home Insurance Discounts
  • 100% replacement cost
  • Dwellings under construction
  • Mature home owners and renters
  • Multiple policies
  • Premium paid in full
  • Protection devices (smoke alarms, deadbolt locks and fire extinguishers)
  • Renovated or new homes
  • Seasonal dwellings
Auto Insurance Discounts
  • Company Car
  • Green Discount
  • Group/Franchise
  • Mature Drivers
  • Multiple Policies
  • Multiple Vehicles
  • Paid In Full Discount
  • Safe Drivers
  • Safety Feature Discounts
  • Student Discounts
Business Insurance Discounts
  • Multiple policies
  • New building
  • Premium paid in full

The Auto-Owners Insurance website offers a number of features, including information on each of their available insurance plans, as well as a search box where potential customers can look for a local agent. There is a client center on the site, which enables current customers the chance to pay their bill or research specific policy details.