Ohio Car Insurance Regulations & Required Coverage
Ohio car insurance regulations require all drivers to have specific insurance coverage minimums. Failure to hold appropriate coverage can result in fines, suspensions, and even the loss of your vehicle. Ohio requires that a driver must always be found to be at fault for causing an accident, this is also known as a tort system.
Free Insurance Comparison
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Nov 14, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.
Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.
In Ohio, all drivers are required to have specific insurance coverage minimums. Failure to hold appropriate coverage can result in fines, suspensions and even the loss of your vehicle. Following Ohio insurance law isn’t difficult and everyone should be insured to protect themselves and other drivers.
Ohio requires that a driver must always be found to be at fault for causing an accident. This is known as a tort system and while the specifics can vary from state to state, the general rules are the same. Once someone is found to be at fault, they are held financially responsible for damages incurred by the accident.
All personal vehicles in Ohio require the following liability coverage requirements:
- Bodily Injury
- Property Damage
|Minimum Ohio Car Insurance Requirements|
|Bodily Injury Liability||$12,500 / $25,000 Limit|
|Property Damage Liability||$7,500 Limit|
Additional insurance coverage can include:
- Uninsured / Underinsured Coverage
- Comprehensive and Collision Coverage
Uninsured / Underinsured coverage helps pay for damages if you are in an accident with someone who does not have adequate insurance coverage or no coverage at all. It also will assist you in paying for damages if you are involved in a hit and run accident.
Collision and comprehensive coverage are optional coverages that can help provide additional security for you and your vehicle. Collision will help cover car related expenses if your vehicle has been involved in any type of collision while comprehensive covers expenses for non-collision related incidents. Non-collision incidents can include damage done by a blizzard or a fire. It also includes car thefts. We have a list of most stolen vehicles in Ohio. Even if your car isn’t listed doesn’t mean you should skimp on this coverage.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
Establishing proof of insurance and financial responsibility
- Get a standard liability car insurance policy and receive a certificate of insurance
- Post a surety bond in the amount of $32,500 with a licensed insurance agency.
- Deposit $30,000 in cash or government bonds with the Ohio Treasurer
In order to provide proof of insurance, you can provide one of the following:
- Insurance ID Card
- Insurance Policy
- Section A of a State Crash Report
- Surety bond of $30,000 issued by a company authorized to do business in Ohio
- BMV bond of at least $60,000 that is secured by real estate
- BMV Certificate showing that government bonds or cash in the amount of $30,000 is on deposit
- BMV Certificate of self insurance (this is only available to people/companies who own at least 26 vehicles
You must maintain proof of insurance and financial responsibility and present it:
- When asked by a police officer
- After receiving a letter from the Ohio BMV asking for proof of insurance
- After an accident
- When obtaining or transferring your license or permit
- When restoring your license after having it revoked or suspended
- When obtaining a registration for your vehicle
- Anytime you are operating a vehicle
Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility Penalties
If you are unable to show proof of insurance when asked, you can face one of the following penalties:
- Loss of driving privileges for a minimum of 90 days and maximum of 2 years
- Suspension of license plates and vehicle registration
- Fees between $75 – $600 to reinstate your license plates
- Other additional fees
- Requirement to file SR-22 or bond for a minimum of 3 years and maximum of 5 years
- Having your vehicle immobilized and plates confiscated for 3 – 60 days for violating FR suspension. Further offenses can result in forfeiture of your vehicle and a suspension of your registration for 5 years.
Ohio Insurance Agents
Columbus Car Insurance | Cleveland Car Insurance | Cincinnati Car Insurance | Toledo Car Insurance | Akron Car Insurance | Dayton Car Insurance | Parma Car Insurance | Canton Car Insurance | Youngstown Car Insurance | Lorain Car Insurance | Hamilton Car Insurance | Springfield Car Insurance | Kettering Car Insurance | Elyria Car Insurance | Lakewood Car Insurance | Cuyahoga Falls Car Insurance | Middletown Car Insurance | Newark Car Insurance