UPDATED: Jun 2, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn't influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.
The state of Nebraska has multiple options for establishing financial responsibility but the most popular is to obtain car insurance coverage. Their laws are similar to other states but do vary and should be reviewed to ensure you meet all the requirements and maintain the right coverage.
Nebraska insurance law follows a tort system. Under this type of system, after an accident, someone must be held responsible for causing it – also known as being found at fault. The at fault driver and their insurance company are then held liable for covering related expenses.
All personal vehicles in Nebraska require the following liability coverage requirements:
- Bodily Injury
- Property Damage
|Minimum Nebraska Car Insurance Requirements|
|Bodily Injury Liability||$25,000 / $50,000 Limit|
|Property Damage Liability||$25,000 Limit|
Take a look at how minimum coverage rates vary from state to state.
Additional insurance coverage can include:
- Comprehensive and Collision Coverage
- Uninsured / Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Collision covers repairs or replacement of your vehicle after it’s been in an accident. Comprehensive covers damages resulting for non-collision incidents such as your vehicle being broken into or a fire. A list of the most stolen vehicles in Nebraska can give you an immediate idea if your car is in danger of being stolen and making this coverage even more useful. Each coverage has a deductible that must first be payed before receiving compensation.
Uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage pays out when the at fault party either doesn’t have insurance, doesn’t have enough coverage or is a hit and run driver. Even though the state requires drivers to maintain insurance, not everyone does making this coverage recommended.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
Establishing proof of insurance and financial responsibility
- Get a standard liability car insurance policy
- Self insurance – must have more than 25 vehicles insured
- Cash deposit of $75,000 with the State Treasurer
- Surety bond with a company licensed by the state
In order to provide proof of insurance, you can provide one of the following:
- Insurance ID card
- Certificate of self insurance
- Certificate of cash bond
- Proof of surety bond
You must maintain proof of insurance and financial responsibility:
- When asked by a police officer
- After an accident
- When registering your vehicle
- Anytime you drive your vehicle
Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility Penalties
If you are not able to show proof of insurance, you can face the following penalties:
- Fines up to $500
- Suspension of your license and registration
- Requirement to file an SR-22
- Applicable reinstatement fees
Average Monthly Car Insurance Rates in NE (Liability, Collision, Comprehensive)
Let’s take a look at the average monthly car insurance rates.
Nebraska Insurance Agents
Omaha Car Insurance | Lincoln Car Insurance | Bellevue Car Insurance | Grand Island Car Insurance | Kearney Car Insurance | Fremont Car Insurance | Hastings Car Insurance | Norfolk Car Insurance | North Platte Car Insurance | Columbus Car Insurance | Papillion Car Insurance | Madison Car Insurance | Mccook Car Insurance