Save up to 75%
Get a Free Insurance Quote Now!
  •  Privacy & Security Protected

Maryland Car Insurance Regulations & Required Coverage

Maryland requires all driver maintain financial responsibility by maintaining a current car insurance policy. The state has minimum coverage and limit car insurance requirements. It also has rather severe fines and punishment for those that do not have car insurance.

Maryland insurance law is dictated by a tort system. This type of system ensures that after an accident, someone is held at fault and is then responsible for paying for related damages that resulted from the accident. Specifics of a tort system can vary depending on state laws.

Required Insurance Coverage

All personal vehicles in Maryland require the following liability coverage requirements:

  • Bodily Injury
  • Property Damage

Additionally, Maryland requires:

  • Uninusred / Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury
  • Uninusred / Underinsured Motorist Property Damage
  • Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
Minimum Maryland Car Insurance Requirements
Bodily Injury Liability $20,000 / $40,000 Limit
Property Damage Liability $15,000 Limit
Uninsured/Underinsured Bodily Injury $20,000 / $40,000 Limit
Uninsured/Underinsured Property Damage $15,000 Limit
Personal Injury Protection $2,500 Limit

Additional insurance coverage can include:

  • Comprehensive and Collision Coverage

Comprehensive and collision, while optional, are highly recommended. Comprehensive can help pay for damages if your car is stolen or if your car has damage from a fire. A list of the most stolen vehicles in Maryland can serve as a guide to see how at-risk your vehicle is. Collision is pays for repairs to or replacement of your vehicle after an accident.

Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility

Establishing proof of insurance and financial responsibility

  • Get a standard liability car insurance policy

Required Documentation

In order to provide proof of insurance, you can provide one of the following:

  • Insurance ID Card
  • Maryland Insurance Certification (FR-19) if asked for proof from MVA or registering your vehicle

You must maintain proof of insurance and financial responsibility and present it:

  • When asked by a police officer
  • After an accident
  • When registering or renewing your vehicle's registration
  • When requested for proof by the MVA
  • Anytime you are operating a vehicle

Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility Penalties

If you are unable to show proof of insurance, you can face the following penalties:

  • Fees of $150 during the first 30 days and $7 per day thereafter
  • Suspension of your registration and a reinstatement fee of $25
  • Fines of $1,000 or imprisonment for 1 year
  • Required to pay all fines prior to registering any vehicles

Maryland Insurance Agents

Baltimore Car Insurance | Frederick Car Insurance | Gaithersburg Car Insurance | Rockville Car Insurance | Bowie Car Insurance | Hagerstown Car Insurance | Annapolis Car Insurance | Salisbury Car Insurance | College Park Car Insurance | Laurel Car Insurance | Greenbelt Car Insurance | Cumberland Car Insurance | Abingdon Car Insurance | Bel Air Car Insurance | Burtonsville Car Insurance | Camp Springs Car Insurance | Capitol Heights Car Insurance | Catonsville Car Insurance