UPDATED: Jun 2, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn't influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.
Maine requires all motorists to have car insurance if they want to maintain financial responsibility. The specific rules and regulations vary from neighboring states and should be reviewed in order to ensure you’re meeting the requirements. Having adequate coverage not only protects you and your passengers but also keeps you from having to pay fines or having your license and registration suspended.
The state of Maine wrote its insurance law to follow a tort system. The policies under a tort system can vary from state to state but the basic concept is that after an accident, someone must always be found to be at-fault or responsible for causing the accident. The at-fault party along with the insurance agency is then held financially responsibility for resulting damages.
All personal vehicles in Maine require the following liability coverage requirements:
- Bodily Injury
- Property Damage
Additionally, Maine requires:
- Uninusred / Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury
- Medical Payments
|Minimum Maine Car Insurance Requirements|
|Bodily Injury Liability||$50,000 / $100,000 Limit|
|Property Damage Liability||$25,000 Limit|
|Uninsured/Underinsured Bodily Injury||$50,000 / $100,000 Limit|
|Medical Payments||$1,000 Limit|
Take a look at how minimum coverage rates vary from state to state.
Additional insurance coverage can include:
- Comprehensive and Collision Coverage
Collision insurance will pay for the cost of repairing your vehicle after an accident. Comprehensive covers non-collision incidents such as flooding or having your car broken into. It also covers you in the event that your vehicle is stolen. If your current car is listed as one of the most stolen vehicles in Maine, this coverage could be very worthwhile.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
Establishing proof of insurance and financial responsibility
- Get a standard liability car insurance policy
- Obtain a policy through the Maine Automobile Insurance Plan
In order to provide proof of insurance, you can provide one of the following:
- Insurance ID Card
- Declaration page of your insurance policy
- Insurance binder
- Document summarizing your insurance policy
- Proof that you obtained insurance through the Maine Automobile Insurance Plan
You must maintain proof of insurance and financial responsibility and present it:
- When asked by a police officer
- After an accident
- When registering or renewing your vehicle’s registration
- When requested for proof by the MVA
- Anytime you are operating a vehicle
Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility Penalties
If you are unable to show proof of insurance, you can face the following penalties:
- Fine between $100 – $500
- Suspension of your license and/or registration
- Requirement to submit an SR-22
Average Monthly Car Insurance Rates in ME (Liability, Collision, Comprehensive)
Let’s take a look at the average monthly car insurance rates.
Maine Insurance Agents
Portland Car Insurance | Lewiston Car Insurance | Bangor Car Insurance | South Portland Car Insurance | Auburn Car Insurance | Biddeford Car Insurance | Falmouth Car Insurance | Topsham Car Insurance | Windham Car Insurance