UPDATED: May 20, 2020
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We partner with top insurance providers. This doesn't influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.
Kansas insurance laws have strict penalties for those who do not maintain financial responsibility. The most popular way of doing so is by purchasing a car insurance policy from an insurance agency
licensed in the state. Specific rules and regulations can vary from state to state so its important to stay current on Kansas laws if you live in or will be driving through the state.
Kansas is a no fault state. Their insurance laws dictate that after an accident, each driver (and their respective insurer) involved in the accident is responsible for paying their own damages from
the accident. This type of system usually makes claim processing quicker but limits legal rights of drivers and usually increases average premiums.
All personal vehicles in Kansas require the following liability coverage requirements:
- Bodily Injury
- Property Damage
Additionally, Kansas requires the following:
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
|Minimum Kansas Car Insurance Requirements|
|Bodily Injury Liability||$25,000 / $50,000 Limit|
|Property Damage Liability||$10,000 Limit|
|Uninsured/Underinsured Bodily Injury||$25,000 / $50,000 Limit|
|Personal Injury Protection||$45,000 Medical / $900 Work Loss|
Take a look at how minimum coverage rates vary from state to state
Additional insurance coverage can include:
- Comprehensive and Collision Coverage
Comprehensive and collision are both optional, but highly recommended. Collision pays for damage to your vehicle when it is involved in any type of accident. Comprehensive will pay for damage to
your vehicle from such incidents as flooding or tornadoes. It also pays for financial loss resulting from having your vehicle stolen. If your vehicle is listed on as one of the most stolen vehicles in Kansas, you should consider this coverage on that basis alone.
Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility
Establishing proof of insurance and financial responsibility
- Get a standard liability car insurance policy
- Self insurance – not available to all drivers
In order to provide proof of insurance, you can provide one of the following:
- Insurance ID card
- Certificate of self insurance
You must maintain proof of insurance and financial responsibility:
- When asked by a police officer
- After an accident
- When registering your vehicle
- Anytime you drive your vehicle
Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility Penalties
If you are not able to show proof of insurance, you can face the following penalties:
- First offense of up to $1,000 and 6 months in jail if left unpaid
- Subsequent offenses within 3 years of your previous offense can result in a fine up to $2,500, loss of your registration and loss of your license
- Associated reinstatement fees
Average Monthly Car Insurance Rates in KS (Liability, Collision, Comprehensive)
Let’s take a look at the average monthly car insurance rates.
Kansas Insurance Agents
Wichita Car Insurance | Overland Park Car Insurance | Kansas City Car Insurance | Olathe Car Insurance | Topeka Car Insurance | Lawrence Car Insurance | Shawnee Car Insurance | Manhattan Car Insurance | Lenexa Car Insurance | Salina Car Insurance | Hutchinson Car Insurance | Leavenworth Car Insurance | Leawood Car Insurance | Dodge City Car Insurance | Garden City Car Insurance | Emporia Car Insurance | Junction City Car Insurance | Derby Car Insurance