Georgia Car Insurance Regulations & Required Coverage

Georgia car insurance regulations require that all drivers maintain insurance coverage on all registered vehicles. Georgia auto insurance law is based on a tort system where someone must be found at-fault for an accident. At-fault drivers are responsible for paying for all damages related to the accident. Without coverage, you could be caught paying out of pocket.

Free Insurance Comparison

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Natasha McLachlan is a writer who currently lives in Southern California. She is an alumna of California College of the Arts, where she obtained her B.A. in Writing and Literature. Her current work revolves around insurance guides and informational articles. She truly enjoys helping others learn more about everyday, practical matters through her work.

Full Bio →

Written by

Laura Walker graduated college with a BS in Criminal Justice with a minor in Political Science. She married her husband and began working in the family insurance business in 2005. She became a licensed agent and wrote P&C business focusing on personal lines insurance for 10 years. Laura serviced existing business and wrote new business. She now uses her insurance background to help educate...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Laura Walker
Former Licensed Agent

UPDATED: Nov 11, 2020

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance company and cannot guarantee quotes from any single insurance company.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

Georgia requires its drivers to maintain financial responsibility. The most popular way is to get a car insurance policy through an insurance company registered in Georgia. The specific details of Georgia insurance law vary from other states and not following them can lead to fines or even misdemeanor charges against you.

Georgia insurance law is based on a tort system. This means that after a car accident happens, someone must be found to be responsible, or at fault. The at fault party, along with their insurance company, are financially responsible for paying damages resulting from the accident.

Required Coverage

All personal vehicles in Georgia require the following liability coverage requirements:

  • Bodily Injury
  • Property Damage
Minimum Georgia Car Insurance Requirements
Bodily Injury Liability $25,000 / $50,000 Limit
Property Damage Liability $25,000 Limit

Additional insurance coverage can include:

  • Uninsured / Underinsured Coverage
  • Comprehensive and Collision Coverage

Uninsured / Underinsured coverage will pay for damages resulting from being hit by a person who does not have insurance, not enough insurance, or flees the scene of the accident (hit and run).

Collision coverage pays for damages anytime your vehicle is hit or in an accident. Comprehensive covers all non-collision related incidents such as having your car stolen or a hurricane. Even if your vehicle isn’t one of the most stolen vehicles in Georgia, it makes sense to get comprehensive insurance for additional protection.

Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility

Establishing proof of insurance and financial responsibility

  • Get a standard liability car insurance policy
  • Self insurance policy on file with the Georgia Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner’s office
  • Obtain a fleet policy (for certain commercial vehicles)

Required Documentation

In order to provide proof of insurance, you can provide one of the following:

  • Insurance ID Card
  • Valid insurance indicator
  • Insurance Policy or Binder
  • Certificate of Self insurance
  • Insurance Declaration Page
  • Rental agreement (if vehicle is rented)
  • Fleet insurance information card

You must maintain proof of insurance and financial responsibility and present it:

  • When asked by a police officer
  • Register a vehicle
  • Renew, transfer or replace vehicle registration
  • After an accident
  • Anytime you are operating a vehicle

Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility Penalties

If you are unable to show proof of insurance, you can face the following penalties:

  • Suspended registration for up to 6 months
  • Fee of $25 and reinstatement fee of up to $160
  • Misdemeanor charges if caught driving without reinstating your registration and paying the applicable fees

Georgia Insurance Agents

Atlanta Car Insurance | Columbus Car Insurance | Savannah Car Insurance | Sandy Springs Car Insurance | Roswell Car Insurance | Johns Creek Car Insurance | Albany Car Insurance | Warner Robins Car Insurance | Alpharetta Car Insurance | Marietta Car Insurance | Smyrna Car Insurance | Valdosta Car Insurance | Gainesville Car Insurance | Newnan Car Insurance | Rome Car Insurance | East Point Car Insurance | Peachtree City Car Insurance | Dalton Car Insurance

Free Insurance Comparison

Compare quotes from the top insurance companies and save!

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption