Save up to 75%
Get a Free Insurance Quote Now!
  •  Privacy & Security Protected

Auto ins. cancelled me- new spouse suspend- court fines, Need insurance fast?

+9 votes
We haven't been able to reach anyone to get my spouses license reinstated in TN. We know about the new ruling re; court can't suspend over past fines. My spouse just finished 4 years prison, we haven't been given any help, break, time, nothing to even catch our breath. Instead has come home to insanity & chaos at every angle. This isn't helping our anxiety, fears, pressures or to learn to live again. I'm on disability & can't pay much more than I have the last 3+ years & now I have notice to find new auto insurance & have 3 days to do it. A couple I tried want over 2x the amount I been paying. What or Who or How..  can I get covered FAST? PLEASE HELP??!!
asked Oct 9, 2018 by ATJ18

1 Answer

0 votes

It sounds like your deadline has passed already for the type of help that you need. That said, if you still need help, you do have options. You're correct in regards to past due fines. In fact, the ruling by U.S. District Court Judge Aleta Trauger guarantees driver's license reinstatement for fines, court costs and other fees as long as no other problems exists, such as suspension for reckless driving, DUI, unpaid child support or non-payment of traffic tickets. Sadly, many drivers had difficulty with the reinstatement earlier this year when they called for assistance because officials continued to state that the past dues fees must be paid first. If your spouse's driver license hasn't been reinstated yet, the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security provides a Reinstatement Centers page that details where your spouse can go to receive help. Tennessee also offers online assistance. Keep in mind that the state isn't supposed to charge a reinstatement fee. Also, your spouse is still responsible in the long run for their past due charges and should pay them in a timely fashion. If your spouse can't afford to pay the total amount, they should speak about payment arrangements with a representative through whatever official channel that billed them for the fee or fine.

As for your automobile insurance: In Tennessee, you only need to maintain liability insurance as long as you're not leasing the vehicle. The minimum coverage is by accident and requires $25,000 for every injury or death, $50,000 for all total and $15,000 for damage to property. The easiest way to find the cheapest coverage is by researching insurance companies online. A simple keyword search of "cheapest auto insurance" with the word "Tennessee" or your ZIP code can help you find local insurance agencies. Some search results actually provide you with a list of rough comparisons across insurance companies. It's important to remember that ultimately other factors like the make and model of your vehicle, your driving history and the number of other insurance products you invest in through a company impact the premium amount. The fastest way to get coverage is to review the rough estimate, call several insurers for quotes and then negotiate the best deal possible with the agent at your preferred company.

answered Oct 15, 2018 by insurance1822 (1,700)
Rates & ResourcesHealth & Life InsuranceHome & Car InsuranceTop Pages